WCHA Press Releases

Wildcat star chosen from among four finalists as WCHA's top player
Northern Michigan's Troy Loggins Named 2018-19 WCHA Player Of The Year
Wildcat star chosen from among four finalists as WCHA's top player

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – March 21, 2019 – For the first time since 1991, the top player in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association hails from Northern Michigan as Wildcat senior Troy Loggins has been honored as the 2018-19 WCHA Player of the Year.

Loggins, who earlier this week was named the WCHA Offensive Player of the Year, was chosen for the top overall league honor by WCHA head coaches from among a group of final candidates that also included two of Loggins' NMU teammates – Philip Beaulieu (WCHA Defenseman of the Year) and Atte Tolvanen (WCHA Goaltender of the Year) – along with Ferris State's Cooper Zech (WCHA Rookie of the Year).

"On behalf of the WCHA, I want to congratulate Northern Michigan student-athlete Troy Loggins on an outstanding 2018-19 season and salute him on his selection as our WCHA Player of the Year," WCHA President and Men's Commissioner Bill Robertson said. "All four of our final candidates had outstanding seasons, but Troy's offensive production for one of the top teams in the league makes him a truly deserving winner."

Loggins joins former Northern Michigan forward Scott Beattie, who was named the WCHA Most Valuable Player following the 1990-91 season, as the second NMU skater to be recognized as the league's top overall player.

"Troy had an outstanding season and to be recognized by the coaches of our league is a testament to his impact on each game," Northern Michigan head coach Grant Potulny said. "Troy plays in every situation and has worked extremely hard to become a complete player. His desire to win and passion for excellence has left a lasting impression on Northern Michigan University and the community of Marquette."

Loggins finished his senior season with 40 points on 23 goals and 17 assists. His goal total is tied for second nationally while his 10 power play goals and three shorthanded goals are tied for the NCAA lead in their respective categories. The Huntington Beach, Calif., native also leads the country with 155 shots on goal. Appearing in all 39 games, Loggins started 20 contests.

The senior was a two-time First Team All-WCHA selection and was voted the WCHA Forward of the Week twice this season.

Loggins capped the regular season with his first career hat trick at Michigan Tech on March 1. He followed that performance with two goals the following day on NMU's Senior Day to give him five points for the second-straight weekend. The week prior in a sweep of Lake Superior State, he notched two goals and three assists to help the Wildcats retain the Cappo Cup.

The three goals at Tech were a season-high and he posted three two-goal outings during the season. For his career, Loggins appeared in 136 games and finished with 56 goals and 50 assists to finish with 106 points.

WCHA Most Valuable Player/Player of the Year Winners
Year Name, Position, Team
1959‑60 (none selected)
1960-61 Jerry Walker, F, Denver
1961-62 Red Berenson, F, Michigan
1962-63 Lou Nanne, D, Minnesota
1963-64 (none selected)
1964-65 Gerry Kell, F, North Dakota
1965-66 Mel Wakabayashi, F, Michigan
1966-67 Keith 'Huffer' Christiansen, F, Minnesota Duluth
1967-68 Keith Magnuson, D, Denver
1968-69 Murray McLachlan, G, Minnesota
1969-70 Murray McLachlan, G, Minnesota
1970-71 Rob Murray, D, Michigan Tech
1971-72 Doug Palazzari, F, Colorado College
1972-73 Ron Grahame, G, Denver
1973-74 Doug Palazzari, F, Colorado College
1974-75 Mike Polich, F, Minnesota (co)
  Tom Ross, F, Michigan State (co)
1975-76 Mike Zuke, F, Michigan Tech
1976-77 Brian Walsh, F, Notre Dame
1977-78 Mike Eaves, F, Wisconsin
1978-79 Mark Johnson, F, Wisconsin
1979-80 Tim Harrer, F, Minnesota
1980-81 Steve Ulseth, F, Minnesota
1981-82 Phil Sykes, F, North Dakota
1982-83 Bob Mason, G, Minnesota Duluth
1983-84 Tom Kurvers, D, Minnesota Duluth
1984-85 Bill Watson, F, Minnesota Duluth
1985-86 Dallas Gaume, F, Denver
1986-87 Tony Hrkac, F, North Dakota
1987-88 Robb Stauber, G, Minnesota
1988-89 Curtis Joseph, G, Wisconsin
1989-90 Gary Shuchuk, F, Wisconsin
1990-91 Scott Beattie, F, Northern Michigan
1991-92 Duane Derksen, G, Wisconsin

Year Name, Position, Team
1992-93 Derek Plante, F, Minnesota Duluth
1993-94 Chris Marinucci, F, Minnesota Duluth
1994-95 Brian Bonin, F, Minnesota
1995-96 Brian Bonin, F, Minnesota
1996-97 Mike Crowley, D, Minnesota
1997-98 Curtis Murphy, D, North Dakota
1998-99 Jason Blake, F, North Dakota
1999-00 Steve Reinprecht, F, Wisconsin
2000-01 Jeff Panzer, F, North Dakota
2001-02 Mark Hartigan, F, St. Cloud State
2002-03 Peter Sejna, F, Colorado College
2003-04 Junior Lessard, F, Minnesota Duluth
2004-05 Marty Sertich, F, Colorado College
2005-06 Matt Carle, D, Denver
2006-07 Ryan Duncan, F, North Dakota
2007-08 Richard Bachman, G, Colorado College
2008-09 Jamie McBain, D, Wisconsin
2009-10 Marc Cheverie, G, Denver
2010-11 Matt Frattin, F, North Dakota
2011-12 Jack Connolly, F, Minnesota Duluth
2012-13 Drew LeBlanc, F, St. Cloud State
2013-14 Cody Kunyk, F, Alaska
2014-15 Tanner Kero, F, Michigan Tech
2015-16 Alex Petan, F, Michigan Tech
2016-17 Michael Bitzer, G, Bemidji State
2017-18 C.J. Suess, F, Minnesota State
2018-19 Troy Loggins, F, Northern Michigan