WCHA Press Releases

Michigan Tech's Devin Kero and Dylan Steman are now the 17th and 18th (men's and women's leagues combined) four-time WCHA Scholar-Athlete Award honorees. In the 14-year history of the award.
WCHA Honors 84 Student-Athletes With 2018-19 Scholar-Athlete Awards
All 10 Men's League member institutions represented on this year's list

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – March 18, 2019 – The Men's League of the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, through Northern Michigan University President and Men's League Chairman, Dr. Fritz Erickson and Men's League Commissioner Bill Robertson, today announced the 84 student-athletes who are the 2018-19 WCHA Scholar-Athlete Award recipients.

"On behalf of the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, I want to extend our sincere congratulations to all of our WCHA Scholar-Athletes for 2018-19," Dr. Erickson said. "We are truly fortunate to have an exceptional group of young men attending our institutions and competing in our conference."

"I'm thrilled to publicly recognize the academic accomplishments of our 84 student-athletes who have maintained a high level of excellence in the classroom while competing at the top level of NCAA hockey," Robertson added. "I also want to salute the successful commitment of our member institutions to the WCHA mission of providing the very best experience, both off and on the ice. Each WCHA Scholar-Athlete Award recipient is a tremendous representative of the Association and its schools; we commend and applaud them all."

The WCHA Scholar-Athlete Award was developed through member institution Faculty Representatives and approved by the conference membership for the 2005-06 season. To earn recognition as a WCHA Scholar-Athlete, conference-member student-athletes must have completed at least one year of residency at their present institution prior to the current academic year and must also have a grade-point average of at least 3.50 on a 4.0 scale for the previous two semesters or three quarters, or may qualify if his overall GPA is at least 3.50 for all terms at his present institution.

Over the 14 years of the award, there have now been more than 1,200 WCHA Scholar-Athlete honorees representing every men's and women's member institution. Forty-two of this season's 84 men's recipients are repeat honorees, with 19 of those now being three-time honorees. This year's 84 honorees are also an increase from the 81 men's student-athletes who were honored a season ago.

In addition, Michigan Tech's Devin Kero and Dylan Steman are now the 17th and 18th (men's and women's leagues combined) four-time WCHA Scholar-Athlete Award honorees. In the 14-year history of the award.

The full list of 2018-19 WCHA Scholar-Athlete Award recipients, by institution (**** indicates four-time recipient; *** indicates three-time recipient; ** indicates two-time recipient):

University of Alabama in Huntsville (5)
Austin Beaulieu (Jr., F, Coral Springs, Fla.); Sean Rappleyea** (Jr., D, Sayreville, N.J.); Teddy Rotenberger** (So., D, Huntsville, Ala.); John Teets*** (Sr., D, Fairbanks, Ak.); Adam Wilcox** (Sr., F, Alpharetta, Ga.)

University of Alaska Anchorage (14)
Cam Amantea*** (Sr., F, Calgary, Alberta); Trey deGraaf (So., F, Red Deer, Alberta); Drake Glover (Fr., F, Anchorage, Ak.); Tomi Hiekkavirta (Jr., D, Helsinki, Finland); Zac Masson (So., F, Newmarket, Ontario); Aaron McPheters (So., D, Anchorage, Ak.); Nolan Nicholas (Jr., D, Thunder Bay, Ontario); Jonah Renouf*** (Jr., F, Mississauga, Ontario); Nathan Renouf*** (Jr., F, Mississauga, Ontario); Corey Renwick (Jr., F, Nanoose Bay, B.C.); Nils Rygaard** (Sr., F, Norrkoping, Sweden); Eric Sinclair (So., D, Kenora, Ontario); David Trinkberger** (Jr., D, Landshut, Germany); Jordan Xavier (So., F, Calgary, Alberta)

University of Alaska (4)
Nikolas Koberstein*** (Sr., D, Barrhead, Alberta); James LaDouce (Jr., D, Saginaw, Mich.); Anton Martinsson** (Jr., G, Klippan, Sweden); Max Newton (So., F, Vancouver, B.C.)

Bemidji State University (13)
Justin Baudry*** (Sr., D, LaBroquerie, Manitoba); Dan Billett*** (Sr., D, Highlands Ranch, Colo.); Adam Brady** (Jr., F, Delhi, Ontario); Connor Brown-Maloski (So., F, Kamloops, B.C.); Jack Burgart** (Jr., G, Fort St. James, B.C.); Dillon Eichstadt*** (Sr., D, Bemidji, Minn.); Ian Janco*** (Sr., D, Bloomington, Minn.); Brad Johnson (So., D, Chesterfield, Mo.); Henry Johnson (So., G, Minneapolis, Minn.); Tommy Muck** (Jr., D, Inver Grove Heights, Minn.); Hampus Sjodahl** (Jr., F, Stockholm, Sweden); Ethan Somoza (So., F, Simi Valley, Calif.); Tyler Vold (So., D, Andover, Minn.)

Bowling Green State University (12)
Sam Craggs (So., F, Elmhurst, Ill.); Jacob Dalton (Jr., D, Saginaw, Mich.); Eric Dop (So., G, Lewis Center, Ohio); Connor Ford (So., F, Pittsburgh, Pa.); Brandon Kruse (So., F, Saline, Mich.); Frederic Letourneau** (Jr., F, Montreal, Quebec); Casey Linkenheld** (Jr., F, Bartlett, Ill.); Matt Meier** (Sr., F, Highlands Ranch, Colo.); Carson Musser (So., D, Grand Rapids, Mich.); Chris Pohlkamp (Sr., D, Baxter, Minn.); Brett Rich (So., G, Bowling Green, Ohio); Cameron Wright (So., F, Newmarket, Ontario)

Ferris State University (7)
Oskar Andren (Sr., F, Stockholm, Sweden); Cameron Clarke (Jr., D, Tecumseh, Mich.); Dominic Lutz** (Jr., F, Livonia, Mich.); Liam MacDougall (So., F, Windsor, Ontario); Joe Rutkowski** (Jr., D, Crystal Lake, Ill.); Zac Tierney*** (Sr., D, London, Ontario); Zach Yoder** (Jr., D, Woodstock, Ga.)

Lake Superior State University (5)
Alex Ambrosio (So., F, Burnaby, B.C.); Roman Bengert (So., G, Dartmouth, N.S.); Nick Kossoff*** (Sr., G, West Des Moines, Iowa); Collin Saccoman** (Jr., D, Stillwater, Minn.); Bennet Vida, So., D, St. Albert, Alberta)

Michigan Technological University (7)
Thomas Beretta** (Jr., F, King City, Ontario); Robbie Beydoun (So., G, Plymouth, Mich.); Seamus Donohue (So., D, North Oaks, Minn.); Devin Kero**** (Sr., G, Hancock, Mich.); Mitch Meek (So., D, Victoria, B.C.); Greyson Reitmeier (So., F, Nakusp, B.C.); Dylan Steman**** (Sr., F, Hanover, Minn.)

Minnesota State University (10)
Michael Bigelbach** (Jr., D, Red Wing, Minn.); Max Coatta*** (Sr., F, Minnetonka, Minn.); Josh French** (Jr., F, Woodbury, Minn.); Edwin Hookenson** (Jr., D, Lampman, Saskatchewan); Shane McMahan (Fr., F, Lakewood, Colo.); Jack McNeely (So., D, Lakeville, Minn.); Nicholas Rivera** (Jr., F, Pacific Palisades, Calif.); Ryan Schwalbe*** (Sr., F, Anchorage, Ak.); Jared Spooner (So., F, Bismarck, N.D.); Alec Vanko*** (Sr., D, Oregon, Wis.)

Northern Michigan University (7)
Joseph Nardi (So., F, Edmonton, Alberta); Denver Pierce*** (Sr., F, Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.); Adam Rockwood** (Sr., F, Coquitlam, B.C.); Adam Roeder (So., D, Ballwin, Mo.); Caleb Schroer (So., F, Wisconsin Rapids, Wis.); Atte Tolvanen*** (Sr., G, Vihti, Finland); James Vermeulen*** (Sr., D, Stony Plains, Alberta)