WCHA Press Releases

Maverick duo among 10 candidates for college hockey's top individual honor
Minnesota State's Marc Michaelis And Dryden McKay Named Hobey Baker Top-10 Finalists
Maverick duo among 10 candidates for college hockey's top individual honor

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – March 18, 2020 – The Western Collegiate Hockey Association landed two representatives on the Hobey Baker Award Top-10 Finalists list announced Wednesday by the Hobey Baker Award Foundation.

Minnesota State senior forward Marc Michaelis – the WCHA's Offensive and overall Player of the Year – is joined on the list by sophomore teammate Dryden McKay, who was named the league's Goaltender of the Year and won the WCHA goaltending championship with a league-record 1.17 goals against average in WCHA play. The duo also earned All-WCHA honors this season. Minnesota State is the lone school with two candidates on this year's list.

Michaelis and McKay are joined on the Baker Top-10 list by Cornell's Morgan Barron, Sacred Heart's Jason Cotton, Providence's Jack Dugan, Boston University's David Farrance, North Dakota's Jordan Kawaguchi, Massachusetts' John Leonard, Maine's Jeremy Swayman and Minnesota Duluth's Scott Perunovich. Fans can participate in voting for this year's winner at hobeybaker.com/vote through noon ET on March 29.

2019-20 WCHA Hobey Baker Award Top-10 Finalists

Marc Michaelis, Sr., F, Minnesota State (Mannheim, Germany)

Minnesota State's Marc Michaelis led the WCHA in overall scoring with 44 points on 20 goals and 24 assists, despite missing seven games due to injury in January and February. His point total also ranked third nationally at the time the season was canceled on March 12. The Mannheim, Germany, native also led the WCHA in goals per game (0.65), points per game (1.42), power play points (21), shorthanded goals (three) and game-winning goals (five). His shorthanded-goal total also tied for the national lead. Michaelis ends his career as the most-prolific scorer in the post-realignment WCHA, leading in the following career categories – points (162), goals (71), power play goals (30) and shorthanded goals (10). He also ranked second in game-winning goals (12) and fourth in assists (91). His points, power play goals and shorthanded goals totals were also the most among all active NCAA players at season's end. His 71 career goals are the most by a Maverick in Minnesota State's Division I era. Michaelis joins C.J. Suess (2017-18) as the second Minnesota State player to earn both WCHA Offensive Player of the Year and over Player of the Year honors.

Dryden McKay, So., G, Minnesota State (Downers Grove, Ill.)

Minnesota State's Dryden McKay earned First Team All-WCHA honors and was named the 2019-20 WCHA Goaltender of the Year earlier this week after authoring one of the top seasons by a netminder in league history. The Downers Grove, Ill., native was the WCHA Goaltending champion for the second year in a row with a WCHA-record 1.17 goals against average in league play, breaking the previous record of 1.35 he set to win the award as freshman in 2018-19. His 1.31 GAA for all games is the second lowest in the 68-year history of the WCHA (1.27- Bob Peters, North Dakota, 1957-58). He ended the season as the national leader in GAA (1.31), save percentage (.942) and shutouts (10) and ranked second in winning percentage at .861. In terms of overall statistics, McKay established new WCHA single-season highs for shutouts (10) and ranks in the top-10 in single season wins (T-sixth- 30), winning percentage (.861), GAA (second- 1.31) and save percentage (second- .942). In WCHA play, his GAA, save percentage (.946) and shutouts (eight) are new league single-season records and he ranks in the top-10 in wins (T-fourth- 22) and winning percentage (fourth- .865). This is his first WCHA Goaltender of the Year honor and the first for Minnesota State in the three years in which the award has been presented.