WCHA Press Releases

Senior is the second Maverick in three seasons to earn the honor
Minnesota State's Marc Michaelis Named 2019-20 WCHA Player Of The Year
Senior is the second Maverick in three seasons to earn the honor

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – March 18, 2020 – For the second time in the last three seasons, the top player in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association hails from Minnesota State as Maverick senior forward Marc Michaelis has been honored as the 2019-20 WCHA Player of the Year.

Michaelis, who earlier this week was named first team All-WCHA and the WCHA Offensive Player of the Year, was chosen for the top overall league honor by WCHA head coaches from among a group of final candidates that also included two of Michaelis' MSU teammates – Dryden McKay (WCHA Goaltender of the Year) and Lucas Sowder (WCHA Rookie of the Year) – along with Bowling Green's Alec Rauhauser (WCHA Defensive Player of the Year).

"I want to congratulate Minnesota State student-athlete Marc Michaelis on an outstanding 2019-20 season and salute him on his selection as our WCHA Player of the Year," WCHA President and Men's Commissioner Bill Robertson said. "All four of our final candidates had outstanding seasons, but Marc's leadership and all-around offensive production for one of the top teams in the country makes him a truly deserving winner."

Michaelis joins former Minnesota State forward C.J. Suess, who was named the WCHA Player of the Year following the 2017-18 season, as the second Maverick skater to be recognized as the league's top overall player.

"Marc's numbers speak volumes about his impact," Minnesota State head coach Mike Hastings said. "You can see his versatility as far as the numbers he put up offensively and on special teams, but his impact as a player really came in all situations for us, whether you talk about five-on-five, faceoffs, power play or shorthanded. With that said, his greatest impact might have been as an example-setter and as leader on and off the ice for our program. He's helped us establish a culture that we hope will continue for years to come."

Michaelis finished his senior season with 44 points on 20 goals and 24 assists, despite missing seven games due to injury in January and February. His point total also ranked third nationally at the time the season was cancelled on March 12.

The Mannheim, Germany, native also led the WCHA in goals per game (0.65), points per game (1.42), power play points (21), shorthanded goals (three) and game-winning goals (five). His shorthanded-goal total tied for the national lead.

Michaelis ends his career as the most-prolific scorer in the post-realignment WCHA, leading in the following career categories – points (162), goals (71), power play goals (30) and shorthanded goals (10). He also ranked second in game-winning goals (12) and fourth in assists (91). His points, power play goals and shorthanded goals totals were also the most among all active NCAA players at season's end. His 71 career goals are the most by a Maverick in Minnesota State's Division I era.

He was a three-time first-team All-WCHA honoree in his career and an All-Rookie selection as a freshman in 2016-17.

In what would be his final series as a Maverick, Michaelis registered five points on a goal and four assists in top-seeded Minnesota State's two-game sweep of Alaska Anchorage in the quarterfinals of the WCHA Playoffs March 6-7. Three of Michaelis' assists in the series came on the power play and he led the league in faceoff winning percentage for the weekend with a .657 average (23-of-35).

WCHA Most Valuable Player/Player of the Year Winners
PLAYER OF THE YEAR (1993-Present)
Year Name, Position, Team
1992-93 Derek Plante, F, Minnesota Duluth
1993-94 Chris Marinucci, F, Minnesota Duluth
1994-95 Brian Bonin, F, Minnesota
1995-96 Brian Bonin, F, Minnesota
1996-97 Mike Crowley, D, Minnesota
1997-98 Curtis Murphy, D, North Dakota
1998-99 Jason Blake, F, North Dakota
1999-00 Steve Reinprecht, F, Wisconsin
2000-01 Jeff Panzer, F, North Dakota
2001-02 Mark Hartigan, F, St. Cloud State
2002-03 Peter Sejna, F, Colorado College
2003-04 Junior Lessard, F, Minnesota Duluth
2004-05 Marty Sertich, F, Colorado College
2005-06 Matt Carle, D, Denver
2006-07 Ryan Duncan, F, North Dakota
2007-08 Richard Bachman, G, Colorado College
2008-09 Jamie McBain, D, Wisconsin
2009-10 Marc Cheverie, G, Denver
2010-11 Matt Frattin, F, North Dakota
2011-12 Jack Connolly, F, Minnesota Duluth
2012-13 Drew LeBlanc, F, St. Cloud State
2013-14 Cody Kunyk, F, Alaska
2014-15 Tanner Kero, F, Michigan Tech
2015-16 Alex Petan, F, Michigan Tech
2016-17 Michael Bitzer, G, Bemidji State
2017-18 C.J. Suess, F, Minnesota State
2018-19 Troy Loggins, F, Northern Michigan
2019-20 Marc Michaelis, F, Minnesota State

Year Name, Position, Team
1959‑60 (none selected)
1960-61 Jerry Walker, F, Denver
1961-62 Red Berenson, F, Michigan
1962-63 Lou Nanne, D, Minnesota
1963-64 (none selected)
1964-65 Gerry Kell, F, North Dakota
1965-66 Mel Wakabayashi, F, Michigan
1966-67 Keith 'Huffer' Christiansen, F, Minnesota Duluth
1967-68 Keith Magnuson, D, Denver
1968-69 Murray McLachlan, G, Minnesota
1969-70 Murray McLachlan, G, Minnesota
1970-71 Rob Murray, D, Michigan Tech
1971-72 Doug Palazzari, F, Colorado College
1972-73 Ron Grahame, G, Denver
1973-74 Doug Palazzari, F, Colorado College
1974-75 Mike Polich, F, Minnesota (co)
  Tom Ross, F, Michigan State (co)
1975-76 Mike Zuke, F, Michigan Tech
1976-77 Brian Walsh, F, Notre Dame
1977-78 Mike Eaves, F, Wisconsin
1978-79 Mark Johnson, F, Wisconsin
1979-80 Tim Harrer, F, Minnesota
1980-81 Steve Ulseth, F, Minnesota
1981-82 Phil Sykes, F, North Dakota
1982-83 Bob Mason, G, Minnesota Duluth
1983-84 Tom Kurvers, D, Minnesota Duluth
1984-85 Bill Watson, F, Minnesota Duluth
1985-86 Dallas Gaume, F, Denver
1986-87 Tony Hrkac, F, North Dakota
1987-88 Robb Stauber, G, Minnesota
1988-89 Curtis Joseph, G, Wisconsin
1989-90 Gary Shuchuk, F, Wisconsin
1990-91 Scott Beattie, F, Northern Michigan
1991-92 Duane Derksen, G, Wisconsin