WCHA Press Releases

Michaelis, McKay earn first team West nods; Mackey and Rauhauser tabbed for West second team
WCHA Lands Four On CCM/AHCA All-America Teams
Michaelis, McKay earn first team West nods; Mackey and Rauhauser tabbed for West second team

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – April 11, 2020 – Four Western Collegiate Hockey Association players were named to the CCM/AHCA West All-America Teams, the American Hockey Coaches Association announced Saturday evening.

Minnesota State senior forward Marc Michaelis – the WCHA's Offensive and overall Player of the Year and MSU sophomore goaltender Dryden McKay – the league's Goaltending Champion and Goaltender of the Year – were named to the West first team while their Minnesota State teammate, Connor Mackey, and Bowling Green's Alec Rauhauser were second team West selections at defenseman.

Michaelis, McKay and Mackey are making their first career appearances on the CCM/AHCA All-America Team. Rauhauser was a second-team choice as a sophomore in 2017-18. Michaelis and McKay were also first-team USCHO All-Americans and Rauhauser was a second-team USCHO pick this season. With their selections, the WCHA has now had 407 players chosen as All-Americans in the 68-year history of the league.

2019-20 WCHA CCM/AHCA All-Americans

West First Team

playerMarc Michaelis, Sr., F, Minnesota State (Mannheim, Germany)

Minnesota State's Marc Michaelis led the WCHA in overall scoring with 44 points on 20 goals and 24 assists, despite missing seven games due to injury in January and February. His point total also ranked third nationally at the time the season was cancelled on March 12. The Mannheim, Germany, native also led the WCHA in goals per game (0.65), points per game (1.42), power play points (21), shorthanded goals (three) and game-winning goals (five). His shorthanded-goal total also tied for the national lead. Michaelis ends his career as the most-prolific scorer in the post-realignment WCHA, leading in the following career categories – points (162), goals (71), power play goals (30) and shorthanded goals (10). He also ranked second in game-winning goals (12) and fourth in assists (91). His points, power play goals and shorthanded goals totals were also the most among all active NCAA players at season's end. His 71 career goals are the most by a Maverick in Minnesota State's Division I era. Michaelis joins C.J. Suess (2017-18) as the second Minnesota State player to earn both WCHA Offensive Player of the Year and overall Player of the Year honors. Michaelis signed a free-agent contract with the Vancouver Canucks following the conclusion of the 2019-20 season.

playerDryden McKay, So., G, Minnesota State (Downers Grove, Ill.)

Minnesota State's Dryden McKay has earned First Team All-WCHA and USCHO All-America honors and was named the 2019-20 WCHA Goaltender of the Year after authoring one of the top seasons by a netminder in league history. The Downers Grove, Ill., native was the WCHA Goaltending champion for the second year in a row with a WCHA-record 1.17 goals against average in league play, breaking the previous record of 1.35 he set to win the award as freshman in 2018-19. His 1.31 GAA for all games is the second lowest in the 68-year history of the WCHA (1.27- Bob Peters, North Dakota, 1957-58). He ended the season as the national leader in GAA (1.31), save percentage (.942) and shutouts (10) and ranked second in winning percentage at .861. In terms of overall statistics, McKay established new WCHA single-season highs for shutouts (10) and ranks in the top-10 in single season wins (T-sixth- 30), winning percentage (second- .861), GAA (second- 1.31) and save percentage (second- .942). In WCHA play, his GAA, save percentage (.946) and shutouts (eight) are new league single-season records and he ranks in the top-10 in wins (T-fourth- 22) and winning percentage (fourth- .865). Off the ice, McKay was also among the WCHA's All-Academic and Scholar-Athlete honorees.

West Second Team

playerConnor Mackey, Jr., D, Minnesota State (Tower Lakes, Ill.)

Minnesota State's Connor Mackey earned first-team All-WCHA honors this season after tying for third in scoring among league defenders with 24 points on five goals and 19 assists for the Mavericks. The Tower Lakes, Ill., native led the WCHA in plus/minus with a +23 rating this season. The rating tied for sixth overall in the NCAA and tied for fourth nationally among defensemen. Mackey was a two-time WCHA Defenseman of the Week pick this season and off the ice was named to the WCHA's All-Academic Team. He ended his career with 61 points on 18 goals and 43 assists to rank 21st on Minnesota State's career defenseman scoring list. Following the conclusion of the 2019-20 season, Mackey signed a free-agent contract with the Calgary Flames.

playerAlec Rauhauser, Sr., D, Bowling Green (Bismarck, N.D.)

Bowling Green's Alec Rauhauser capped his stellar Falcon career with his second WCHA Defensive Player of the Year honor in 2019-20. The Bismarck, N.D., native finished the season tied for fourth in scoring in all games with 35 points on 11 goals and 24 assists in 38 contests to lead all WCHA blueliners and finish fourth nationally among defensemen. Rahauser also led the league in power play assists (17) and tied for the national lead in shorthanded goals (three). In WCHA play, Rauhauser again topped all league defensemen with 26 points on seven goals and a WCHA-best 19 assists. He also led the league in power play assists (16), power play points (17) and shorthanded goals (two) in 28 league contests. He ended his career ranked in the top-10 on the WCHA's post-realignment points (fourth-122) and assists (second- 93) lists. He won his – and Bowling Green's – first WCHA Defensive Player of the Year award in 2017-18. Off the ice, Rauhauser was named to the WCHA's All-Academic Team this season. Rauhauser inked a free agent deal with the Florida Panthers following the conclusion of the 2019-20 season.

About the Western Collegiate Hockey Association Men's League

The Western Collegiate Hockey Association, among the most historic, tradition-rich and successful conferences in all of collegiate athletics, marked its 68th season of men's competition in 2019-20. The 10-team NCAA Division I conference consists of the University of Alabama in Huntsville (Chargers), the University of Alaska Anchorage (Seawolves), the University of Alaska (Nanooks), Bemidji State University (Beavers), Bowling Green State University (Falcons), Ferris State University (Bulldogs), Lake Superior State University (Lakers), Michigan Technological University (Huskies), Minnesota State University (Mavericks) and Northern Michigan University (Wildcats). For more information, visit wcha.com.