WCHA Press Releases

Minnesota State captured the MacNaughton Cup for its third straight WCHA regular season title
WCHA Men's League Season Review
Minnesota State's third-straight MacNaughton Cup; five All-Americans and a Mike Richter Award finalist highlight the truncated 2019-20 campaign

Final Horn

- Minnesota State Wins MacNaughton Cup: Minnesota State won its third consecutive WCHA regular season title and fifth crown in the last six seasons in 2019-20. The Mavericks clinched the league title and MacNaughton Cup on the final night of the season with a 4-1 win at league runner-up Bemidji State. The Mavericks have claimed the league title outright four times - 2014-15, 2017-18, 2018-19, 2019-20 and shared the title in 2015-16. Minnesota State joins Colorado College (1993-94, 1994-95, 1995-96) as the only schools in WCHA history to win three consecutive outright league titles. North Dakota won three in a row from 1996-97 to 1998-99 but the first title in that run was a co-championship.

- Mavericks, Beavers, Falcons, Huskies Advance to WCHA Semifinals: Top-seeded Minnesota State, No. 2 seed Bemidji State, No. 5 seed Bowling Green and No. 6 seed Michigan Tech advanced to the WCHA Semifinals before the season was shut down on March 12. The No. 1 Mavericks were slated to host Michigan Tech while second-seeded Bemidji State was set to square off with the Falcons before the COVID-19 health scare forced a premature end to the 2019-20 postseason.

- Mike Richter Award: Minnesota State sophomore Dryden McKay was one of five finalists for the Mike Richter Award, which is presented annually to the nation's top goaltender. this season. Bemidji State junior Zach Driscoll was also one of 10 semifinalists for the honor this season. McKay, the WCHA Goaltending Champion and WCHA Goaltender of the Year, ended the season as the national leader in GAA (1.31), save percentage (.942) and shutouts (10) and ranked second in winning percentage at .861. Driscoll earned second-team All-WCHA honors after finishing second to McKay in the league goaltending champion race with a 1.48 GAA in WCHA play, the fourth-lowest mark in WCHA history.

- Hobey Baker Award: Minnesota State senior Marc Michaelis and sophomore Dryden McKay were two of 10 semifinalists for the 2019-20 Hobey Baker Award. Michaelis, the WCHA Player of the Year, finished third nationally in scoring with 44 points on 20 goals and 24 assists this season. McKay authored one of the top goaltending seasons in WCHA history, posting the second-lowest overall GAA in league history at 1.31

- All-Americans: The WCHA landed four players on the CCM/AHCA All-America West squads announced April 11. Minnesota State goaltender Dryden McKay and MSU forward Marc Michaelis were named to the West first team while their Maverick teammate Connor Mackey and WCHA Defensive Player of the Year Alec Rauhauser of Bowling Green were selected as second-team defensemen.

  • Michaelis and McKay also earned first-team All-America honors from USCHO.com while Rauhauser earned a second team nod and Northern Michigan's Griffin Loughran was a third-team pick.

- WCHA Scoring and Goaltending Champions: A pair of sophomores - Northern Michigan's Griffin Loughran and Minnesota State's Dryden McKay took home the WCHA scoring and goaltending championships, respectively, this season.

  • Loughran registered 32 points on 20 goals and 12 assists in WCHA play to take home the scoring title while McKay captured his second-straight goaltending crown with a WCHA-record 1.17 goals against average in league contests, surpassing his previous WCHA record of 1.35 set in 2018-19.

- Coaching Milestones: Two WCHA head coaches hit victory milestones in 2019-20 as Bemidji State's Tom Serratore recorded his 300th career win on Nov. 9 against Lake Superior State and Minnesota State's Mike Hastings reached the 200-win mark on Jan. 3 against Alaska. Serratore, who was named the WCHA Coach of the Year at season's end, boasts a career record of 319-297-89 at his alma mater. Hastings ended the season with a career record of 214-85-23. Hastings' 214 wins as a WCHA bench boss ranks No. 19 all-time among WCHA coaches. Both Hastings and Serratore were finalists for the AHCA's Spencer Penrose Award, which is presented annually to the nation's coach of the year.

- NCAA Statistical Leaders: WCHA players ended the 2019-20 season atop a number of NCAA statistical categories, led by Minnesota State's Dryden McKay, who led all NCAA goaltenders in goals against average (1.31), save percentage (.942) and shutouts (10). Bemidji State's Adam Brady shared the NCAA lead in power play goals with 12 while Minnesota State's Marc Michaelis and Bowling Green's Alec Rauhauser were two of seven players to pot an NCAA-best three short-handed goals this season. Michigan Tech's Tommy Parrottino was one of three players to lead the country in hat tricks with two and Alaska's Max Newton topped the NCAA faceoff wins list with 515.

  • Two WCHA players appeared atop a pair of NCAA single-game highs list in 2019-20, with both highs occurring on the same day. Michigan Tech's Alec Broetzman tallied five points (3g-2a) on Oct. 6 against Robert Morris while Bowling Green's Cameron Wright recorded a national season-high four goals later that afternoon at Miami. Both season highs were shared with multiple players nationally.

- NHL Signees: Three WCHA players have inked National Hockey League free agent contracts as of April 13 to headline the league's pro signee list. Minnesota State senior forward Marc Michaelis signed on with the Vancouver Canucks while one of his Maverick teammates, junior defenseman Connor Mackey, joined the Calgary Flames. Senior blueliner Alec Rauhauser of Bowling Green rounded out the WCHA signee group when he joined the Florida Panthers.

2020 WCHA Postseason Tournament

The WCHA was in the midst of its 2020 Postseason Tournament when the season was cancelled on March 12. The tournament annually brings the singular intensity and passion of playoff college hockey directly to its member institution fans with an eight-team, three-round tournament hosted on-campus by the highest remaining seeds. Each year, the winner receives the WCHA's automatic bid to the NCAA Division I Men's Ice Hockey Championship and the Jeff Sauer WCHA Championship Trophy, presented by Anderson's Pure Maple Syrup.