WCHA Press Releases

WCHA Announces Adjustments To 2020-21 Schedule
Teams will play two non-conference series against WCHA foes to replace lost Alaska Anchorage and Alaska Fairbanks series

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – Dec. 18, 2020 – The Men's League of the Western Collegiate Hockey Association has adjusted its 2020-21 schedule to fill open dates created by Alaska Anchorage and Alaska Fairbanks opting out of the season.

The eight competing WCHA teams will play their scheduled two-game league series against each of their seven remaining opponents for a total of 14 league games. Additionally, teams will also play two non-conference series against WCHA opponents. Those matchups will feature the teams slated to play Alaska Anchorage and Alaska Fairbanks each weekend in the original WCHA schedule.

The additional games have been designated non-conference in order to maintain the balance of one league series per opponent that was agreed to when the current 2020-21 WCHA schedule was approved.

The new non-league series are as follows. Dates are subject to change:

Jan. 2-3: Bemidji State at Lake Superior State
Jan. 8-9: Lake Superior State at Northern Michigan
Jan. 15-16: Northern Michigan at Bowling Green
Jan. 21-22: Bowling Green at Bemidji State
Jan. 28-29: Alabama Huntsville at Minnesota State
Feb. 5-6: Michigan Tech at Alabama Huntsville
Feb. 12-13: Ferris State at Michigan Tech
Feb. 19-20: Minnesota State at Ferris State

The WCHA has also rescheduled the postponed Dec. 2 league game between Northern Michigan and Lake Superior State to Saturday, Feb. 6 at Lake Superior State.

The format for the 2020-21 WCHA Postseason will be announced at a later date. All WCHA games in January and February and the WCHA Postseason will stream on FloHockey.tv.

About the Western Collegiate Hockey Association (WCHA) Men’s League

The Western Collegiate Hockey Association, among the most historic, tradition-rich and successful conferences in all of collegiate athletics, is marking its 69th season of men's competition in 2020-21. The 10-team NCAA Division I conference consists of the University of Alabama in Huntsville (Chargers), the University of Alaska Anchorage (Seawolves), the University of Alaska (Nanooks), Bemidji State University (Beavers), Bowling Green State University (Falcons), Ferris State University (Bulldogs), Lake Superior State University (Lakers), Michigan Technological University (Huskies), Minnesota State University (Mavericks) and Northern Michigan University (Wildcats). For more information, visit wcha.com