WCHA Press Releases

Minnesota State's Dryden McKay Named HCA National Goaltender Of The Month
MSU junior shares national top netminder honors for January

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – Feb. 4, 2021 – Minnesota State junior Dryden McKay has been named the national Goaltender of the Month for January by the Hockey Commissioner's Association the HCA announced Tuesday. McKay is the co-winner of the award this month, sharing the honor with Michigan's Strauss Mann.

McKay appeared in six games during the month of January, led the nation with four shutouts and tied for the most wins with six. He posted a goals against average of 0.50 and a save percentage of .971, both of which ranked second in the nation.

The Downers Grove, Ill., native had a scoreless streak of 217:37 minutes spanning five games from Dec. 18, 2020-Jan. 16, 2021, that places him 19th on the NCAA all-time consecutive shutout minutes list. The streak is also the ninth-longest in WCHA history. Coupled with his 234:25 streak in 2019-20, he is the first goaltender in WCHA history with two shutout streaks of 200 minutes or more.

The honor is the third national monthly goaltender honor for McKay in his career (February 2019, November 2019) and the third national accolade for the WCHA this season. Alabama Huntsville's Tyrone Bronte received Rookie of the Month honors in November and Michigan Tech's Blake Pietila was named Goaltender of the Month in December.

In addition to McKay and Mann earning goaltender co-honors, the HCA also recognized Boston University senior defenseman David Farrance as its Player of the Month and St. Cloud State freshman forward Veeti Miettinen as its Rookie of the Month.

McKay and the No. 6/4 Mavericks return to the ice to host No. 8/8 Bowling Green in a two-game WCHA series Feb. 5-6.

About the Western Collegiate Hockey Association Men's League

The Western Collegiate Hockey Association, among the most historic, tradition-rich and successful conferences in all of collegiate athletics, will mark its 69th season of men's competition in 2020-21. The 10-team NCAA Division I conference consists of the University of Alabama in Huntsville (Chargers), the University of Alaska Anchorage (Seawolves), the University of Alaska (Nanooks), Bemidji State University (Beavers), Bowling Green State University (Falcons), Ferris State University (Bulldogs), Lake Superior State University (Lakers), Michigan Technological University (Huskies), Minnesota State University (Mavericks) and Northern Michigan University (Wildcats). For more information, visit wcha.com.