WCHA Press Releases

WCHA Lands Six On Mike Richter Award Watch List
Driscoll, Dop, Rose, Mitens, Pietila and McKay among 35 goaltenders selected

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – Feb. 2, 2021 – Six Western Collegiate Hockey Association netminders are among the 35 goaltenders named to the Hockey Commissioners Association's Mike Richter Award watch list released Tuesday.

Since 2014, the Mike Richter Award has been presented annually to the top goalie in men's NCAA Division I hockey. The award was previously administered by "Let's Play Hockey" magazine.

Named to the watch list from the WCHA are Zach Driscoll of Bemidji State, Eric Dop and Zack Rose of Bowling Green, Mareks Mitens of Lake Superior State, Blake Pietila of Michigan Tech and Dryden McKay of Minnesota State.

McKay was a finalist for the award in 2020 while Driscoll was among the semifinalists.

A committee of voters — made up of a cross section of coaches, administrators, scouts and media — will pare this list down to approximately 15 names within the next two weeks and then ultimately choose the winner who will be announced in April during the NCAA Frozen Four.