WCHA Press Releases

Minnesota State's Dryden McKay Named Hobey Baker Award Top Ten Finalist
WCHA Player and Goaltender of the Year in the running for college hockey's top individual honor

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – March 17, 2021 – Minnesota State junior goaltender Dryden McKay has been named to the Hobey Baker Award Top Ten finalists list announced Wednesday by the Hobey Baker Award Foundation.

The WCHA Player of the Year in 2020-21, McKay received his second-straight WCHA Goaltender of the Year Award and captured third consecutive WCHA Goaltending Championship this season with a WCHA-record 1.07 goals-against average in league play.

The record marks the third time in as many seasons that McKay has lowered the WCHA GAA record in league games. He joins former NHL star and Michigan Tech three-time All-American Tony Esposito (1964-65, 1965-66, 1966-67) as just the second netminder to win three-straight WCHA goaltending crowns.

McKay enters the WCHA Championship weekend with an equally impressive 1.25 GAA in all games that leads the NCAA. He also leads the country in shutouts (nine) and winning percentage (.905/19-2-0). McKay is also tied for second in wins (19) and ranks third in save percentage (.937).

His 1.25 GAA is on pace to surpass the WCHA single season record of 1.27 set by North Dakota's Bob Peters in 1957-58.

McKay recorded his 23rd career shutout on March 12 to extend his WCHA record and move within three of the NCAA-record 26 blankings recorded by Michigan State's Ryan Miller from 1999-2002. McKay's nine shutouts in 21 contests this season are within two of equaling his WCHA single season record of 10 set last season in 37 appearances.

McKay is joined on the Baker Top Ten list by Boston College's Matt Boldy and Spencer Knight, Boston University's David Farrance, Minnesota's Jack LaFontaine, North Dakota's Shane Pinto, Quinnipiac's Keith Petruzzelli and Odeen Tufto and Wisconsin's Cole Caufield and Dylan Holloway,

The 10 finalists will be pared down to three Hobey Hat Trick finalists on April 1. The 2021 Hobey Baker Award winner will be announced April 9 on the NHL Network.

About the Western Collegiate Hockey Association Men's League

The Western Collegiate Hockey Association, among the most historic, tradition-rich and successful conferences in all of collegiate athletics, is marking its 69th season of men's competition in 2020-21. The 10-team NCAA Division I conference consists of the University of Alabama in Huntsville (Chargers), the University of Alaska Anchorage (Seawolves), the University of Alaska (Nanooks), Bemidji State University (Beavers), Bowling Green State University (Falcons), Ferris State University (Bulldogs), Lake Superior State University (Lakers), Michigan Technological University (Huskies), Minnesota State University (Mavericks) and Northern Michigan University (Wildcats). For more information, visit wcha.com.