WCHA Press Releases

Minnesota State's Dryden McKay Named Richter Award Top-Three Finalist
Maverick netminder in the running for national goaltender of the year honors

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – March 26, 2021 – Minnesota State junior goaltender Dryden McKay has been named to the Mike Richter Award Final Three list announced Friday by the Hockey Commissioners Association.

The WCHA Player of the Year in 2020-21, McKay received his second-straight WCHA Goaltender of the Year Award and was the only active player named to the WCHA's 2010s All-Decade Team earlier this month. He captured a third consecutive WCHA Goaltending Championship this season with a WCHA-record 1.07 goals-against average in league play.

The GAA record marks the third time in as many seasons that McKay has lowered the WCHA GAA mark in league games. He joins former NHL star and Michigan Tech three-time All-American Tony Esposito (1964-65, 1965-66, 1966-67) as just the second netminder to win three-straight WCHA goaltending crowns.

McKay enters the NCAA regionals with an equally impressive 1.40 GAA in all games that leads the NCAA. He also tops the country in shutouts (nine) and winning percentage (.864/19-3-0). McKay is also tied for second in wins (19) and ranks eighth in save percentage (.930).

McKay recorded his 23rd career shutout on March 12 to extend his WCHA record and move within three of the NCAA-record 26 blankings recorded by Michigan State's Ryan Miller from 1999-2002. McKay's nine shutouts in 21 contests this season are within two of equaling his WCHA single-season record of 10 set last season in 37 appearances.

McKay is joined on the Richter Final Three list by Boston College's Spencer Knight, and Minnesota's Jack LaFontaine.

The winner of this year's Mike Richter Award will be announced during the NCAA Frozen Four in April.

About the Western Collegiate Hockey Association Men's League

The Western Collegiate Hockey Association, among the most historic, tradition-rich and successful conferences in all of collegiate athletics, is marking its 69th season of men's competition in 2020-21. The 10-team NCAA Division I conference consists of the University of Alabama in Huntsville (Chargers), the University of Alaska Anchorage (Seawolves), the University of Alaska (Nanooks), Bemidji State University (Beavers), Bowling Green State University (Falcons), Ferris State University (Bulldogs), Lake Superior State University (Lakers), Michigan Technological University (Huskies), Minnesota State University (Mavericks) and Northern Michigan University (Wildcats). For more information, visit wcha.com.