WCHA Press Releases

Minnesota State's Mike Hastings Among The Finalists For The Spencer Penrose Award
MSU leader one of 10 candidates for national coach of the year honors

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – March 30, 2021 – Minnesota State head coach Mike Hastings has been named one of 10 finalists for the 2021 Spencer Penrose Award, the American Hockey Coaches Association announced Tuesday.

The Spencer Penrose Award is presented annually to the CCM/AHCA Division I Men's Ice Hockey Coach of the Year.

The 2015 Penrose winner, Hastings has led the Mavericks to an unprecedented fourth consecutive MacNaughton Cup championship and the school's first NCAA Frozen Four appearance this season. Minnesota State rolled to the WCHA regular season title with a 13-1-0 mark in league play and will open the Frozen Four against St. Cloud State with a 22-4-1 overall record.

Minnesota State is the first school in WCHA history to win four consecutive regular season crowns and one of just two to win three outright titles in a row. Under the Crookston, Minn., native's tutelage, the Mavericks have posted a 234-89-24 mark during his nine seasons behind the bench in Mankato, the top record in college hockey during that span.

MSU has captured six WCHA regular-season titles, three league postseason championships and posted nine 20-win seasons during his tenure. Hastings earned his fourth WCHA Coach of the Year award earlier this season. He was previously honored in 2012-13, 2014-15 and 2018-19.

Joining Hastings on the finalist list are North Dakota's Brad Berry, Massachusetts' Greg Carvel, Wisconsin's Tony Granato, St. Cloud State's Brett Larson, Quinnipiac's Rand Pecknold, Army's Brian Riley, Minnesota Duluth's Scott Sandelin, Robert Morris' Derek Schooley and Boston College's Jerry York.

The 2021 Spencer Penrose winner will be announced on April 6.

About the Western Collegiate Hockey Association Men's League

The Western Collegiate Hockey Association, among the most historic, tradition-rich and successful conferences in all of collegiate athletics, is marking its 69th season of men's competition in 2020-21. The 10-team NCAA Division I conference consists of the University of Alabama in Huntsville (Chargers), the University of Alaska Anchorage (Seawolves), the University of Alaska (Nanooks), Bemidji State University (Beavers), Bowling Green State University (Falcons), Ferris State University (Bulldogs), Lake Superior State University (Lakers), Michigan Technological University (Huskies), Minnesota State University (Mavericks) and Northern Michigan University (Wildcats). For more information, visit wcha.com.