WCHA Press Releases

Minnesota State's Dryden McKay Named Hobey Baker Award Hat Trick Finalist
MSU junior the lone Frozen Four participant among the final three candidates

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – April 1, 2021 – Minnesota State junior goaltender Dryden McKay has been named one of three Hobey Baker Award Hat Trick finalists, the Hobey Baker Memorial Award Committee announced Thursday.

McKay recorded his 24th career shutout in the West Regional final on March 28, blanking top-seeded Minnesota, 4-0, to clinch the first Frozen Four berth for the Minnesota State program.

The shutout extended his WCHA record and moved the Downers Grove, Ill., native within two of the NCAA-record 26 blankings recorded by Michigan State's Ryan Miller from 1999-2002. McKay's 10 shutouts in 25 contests this season lead the NCAA and equal his WCHA single season record set last season in 37 appearances.

The WCHA Player of the Year in 2020-21, McKay received his second-straight WCHA Goaltender of the Year Award and was the only active player named to the WCHA's 2010s All-Decade Team in March. He captured a third consecutive WCHA Goaltending Championship this season with a WCHA-record 1.07 goals-against average in league play.

The GAA record marks the third time in as many seasons that McKay has lowered the WCHA GAA mark in league games. He joins former NHL star and Michigan Tech three-time All-American Tony Esposito (1964-65, 1965-66, 1966-67) as just the second netminder to win three-straight WCHA goaltending crowns.

McKay enters the Frozen Four with an equally impressive 1.39 GAA in all games that ranks second in the NCAA. He also tops the country in shutouts (10) and winning percentage (.875), ranks second in victories (21-3-0) and sixth in save percentage (.931).

McKay is joined as a Hat Trick finalist by forwards Cole Caufield of Wisconsin and Shane Pinto of North Dakota.

The winner of this year's Hobey Baker Award will be announced on April 9 during a live broadcast on the NHL Network at 6 p.m. ET.

About the Western Collegiate Hockey Association Men's League

The Western Collegiate Hockey Association, among the most historic, tradition-rich and successful conferences in all of collegiate athletics, is marking its 69th season of men's competition in 2020-21. The 10-team NCAA Division I conference consists of the University of Alabama in Huntsville (Chargers), the University of Alaska Anchorage (Seawolves), the University of Alaska (Nanooks), Bemidji State University (Beavers), Bowling Green State University (Falcons), Ferris State University (Bulldogs), Lake Superior State University (Lakers), Michigan Technological University (Huskies), Minnesota State University (Mavericks) and Northern Michigan University (Wildcats). For more information, visit wcha.com.