Kristine Morrison To Officiate Ferris State Exhibition Games Oct. 3-4
Longtime official to become first female to skate in a WCHA men's contest
Longtime official Kristine Morrison to become first female to skate in a WCHA men's contest

EDINA, Minn. – Oct. 2, 2015 – Veteran official Kristine (Langley) Morrison, who has worked four NCAA Women's Frozen Four tournaments and several international competitions, will serve as a referee this weekend at Ferris State, the Western Collegiate Hockey Association (WCHA) announced today.

"The WCHA is committed to providing growth opportunities for all of our officials," said WCHA Men's Commissioner Bill Robertson and Women's Commissioner Aaron Kemp in a joint statement. "As part of that process, we are exploring new evaluation and development paths for our female officials. Kristine has consistently been rated among the top on-ice officials in the women's league and is certainly deserving of this opportunity for continued professional growth."

A member of the on-ice officiating staff for the women's WCHA since 2005, Morrison will skate Ferris State's Crimson & Gold intrasquad game Saturday and the Bulldogs' exhibition contest against the University of Lethbridge on Sunday.

About the men's Western Collegiate Hockey Association (WCHA)

The Western Collegiate Hockey Association, among the most historic, tradition-rich and successful conferences in all of collegiate athletics, will proudly mark its 64th season of men's competition in 2015-16. The 10-team Division 1 conference consists of the University of Alabama in Huntsville (Chargers), the University of Alaska Anchorage (Seawolves), the University of Alaska (Nanooks), Bemidji State University (Beavers), Bowling Green State University (Falcons), Ferris State University (Bulldogs), Lake Superior State University (Lakers), Michigan Technological University (Huskies), Minnesota State University (Mavericks) and Northern Michigan University (Wildcats). For more information, visit

About the women's Western Collegiate Hockey Association (WCHA)

The women's Western Collegiate Hockey Association has won a record 15 national championships in 16 years since its inception in 1999, while producing six Patty Kazmaier Award winners, 76 All-Americans and numerous Olympic and international team members. The eight-team Division 1 conference consists of: Bemidji State University (Beavers), the University of Minnesota (Golden Gophers), the University of Minnesota Duluth (Bulldogs), Minnesota State University (Mavericks), the University of North Dakota, Ohio State University (Buckeyes), St. Cloud State University (Huskies) and the University of Wisconsin (Badgers). For more information, visit