BSU's Bitzer And MSU's Brickley Named 2016-17 All-Americans
Beavers' goaltender garners first-team honors; Mavericks' defenseman on second team
BSU's Michael Bitzer tabbed First-Team goalie and MSU's Daniel Brickey named Second-Team defenseman

EDINA, Minn. – April 7, 2017 – The Player and Defensive Player of the Year, respectively, from the men's Western Collegiate Hockey Association (WCHA) have been named CCM/AHCA Hockey All-Americans for 2016-17, as Bemidji State goaltender Michael Bitzer earned first-team West region honors and Minnesota State defenseman Daniel Brickley garnered second-team accolades. Both players are first-time All-Americans.

Bitzer backstopped Bemidji State to the program's first MacNaughton Cup as WCHA regular season champion, solidifying his place as one of the nation's top goaltenders with an exceptional junior campaign – one of the best-ever by a league netminder. The Moorhead, Minn. native set the all-time WCHA record with a sparkling 1.40 goals-against average in his 27 league games, while also pacing the circuit with a .940 save percentage (second in league history), 20 wins (tied for seventh), a .778 winning percentage, five shutouts (tied for third) and 1625:40 in net.

The first-team All-WCHA goaltender and league Player of the Year ended his season with a 1.71 overall goals-against average, currently best in the country, while he tied his own Bemidji State single-season record with six shutouts (also tied for most in the NCAA). Bitzer finished with a 22-14-3 record, tying for ninth nationally for wins and becoming the first BSU goalie with 22 victories in a season since Steve O'Shea (22-12-1) in 1986-87. He was in the net for every Beaver victory in 2016-17, as the team won its most league games of its seven WCHA campaigns and posted its most overall triumphs since 2009-10.

Brickley was the top two-way player in the WCHA, pacing league defensemen with 19 assists, 26 points and 14 power-play points in just 22 league contests, while ranking second with 55 blocked shots. The first-team All-WCHA performer and league Defensive Player of the Year nearly became the first blue-liner in 20 years to lead the league in scoring, falling just four points shy – despite missing six games due to injury.

The sophomore from Sandy, Utah wrapped up his campaign with eight goals, 23 assists and 31 points – currently tied for the 10th-most nationally among defensemen (third for underclassmen). Brickley also added 72 blocked shots and a plus-9 rating, helping Minnesota State to a 22-win season and a trip to the WCHA semifinals.

2016-17 All-Americans

First Team
Charles Williams, SR, Canisius University
(Canton, MI)
Michael Bitzer, JR, Bemidji State University
(Moorhead, MN)
Adam Fox, FR, Harvard University
(Jericho, NY)
Will Butcher, SR, University of Denver#
(Sun Prairie, WI)
Charlie McAvoy, SO, Boston University
(Long Beach, NY)
Tucker Poolman, JR, University of North Dakota
(East Grand Forks, MN)
Zach Aston-Reese, SR, Northeastern University
(Staten Island, NY)
Henrik Borgstrom, FR, University of Denver
(Helsinki, Finland)
Spencer Foo, JR, Union College
(Edmonton, AB)
Alex Iafallo, SR, University of Minnesota Duluth
(Eden, NY)
Mike Vecchione, SR, Union College
(Saugus, MA)
Tyler Sheehy, SO, University of Minnesota
(Burnsville, MN)

Second Team
Kyle Hayton, JR, St. Lawrence University
(Denver, CO)
Tanner Jaillet, JR, University of Denver
(Red Deer, AB)
Gavin Bayreuther, SR, St. Lawrence University#
(Canaan, NH)
Daniel Brickley, SO, Minnesota State University
(Sandy, UT)
Jake Walman, JR, Providence College*
(Toronto, ON)
Luc Snuggerud, JR, University of Nebraska Omaha
(Eden Prairie, MN)
Dylan Zink, SR, UMass Lowell
(Madison, WI)
Anders Bjork, JR, University of Notre Dame
(Mequon, WI)
Mason Jobst, SO, The Ohio State University
(Speedway, IN)
Tyler Kelleher, SR, University of New Hampshire
(Longmeadow, MA)
Luke Kunin, SO, University of Wisconsin
(Chesterfield, MO)
Alexander Kerfoot, SR, Harvard University
(West Vancouver, BC)
Austin Ortega, SR, University of Nebraska Omaha
(Escondido, CA)
* First Team in 2015-16; # Second Team in 2015-16