Senior Sean Wiles scores twice for Seawolves

Sean Wiles scored two goals for the Seawolves

ANCHORAGE - A pair of goals by senior Sean Wiles lifted Alaska Anchorage over the Air Force Falcons, 3-2, in the finale of the 2010 Kendall Hockey Classic on Saturday at Sullivan Arena.

The Seawolves (1-0-1) led 3-1 when Air Force (0-2-0) pulled their goalie for an extra attacker and brought the game within one with 1:32 left in regulation. UAA was able to fend of the Falcons in the final seconds for their first win of the season.

The Falcons were the first on the board when senior Blake page netted a goal with 17 seconds left in the first frame. Senior Sean Bertsch was credited with the helper.

Air Force's lead was short-lived as Wiles found the back of the net with just one minute expired in the second period for the 1-1 tie. Junior defenseman Curtis Lienweber fed the puck to Wiles, who came from behind the net and found a gap between the pipe and AFA's netminder Jason Torf.

UAA took its first lead of the game when senior forward Craig Parkinson was left open in front of the crease. Rookie Jordan Kwas passed Parkinson the puck, who then sent a point-blank wrister to the mesh at 8:27 of the second. Senior forward Nick Haddad received the second assist on the play.

The Seawolves' final tally came at 15:24 of the second with Wiles' game winner and third goal of the season.

Junior Scott Mathis registered Air Forces extra-attacker strike at 18:28 of the third.

The Seawolves just edged the Falcons in shots, prevailing 31-30. Freshman Rob Gunderson made 28 saves for the win in his college debut, while Torf (28 saves) picked up the loss.

UAA was 0-1 on the man advantage and AFA was 0-5. The Seawolves were tagged for 5 penalties, serving 10 minutes, compared to the Falcon's two minutes.

Representing the Seawolves on the all-tournament team was senior forward Tommy Grant and Wiles.

UAA will travel to Fairbanks to play in the third annual Brice Alaska Goal Rush on Oct. 15-16. The Seawolves will face Colorado College and Union College.

2010 Kendall Hockey Classic All-Tournament Team

Tommy Grant - Alaska Anchorage

Brett Hextall - North Dakota

Corban Knight - North Dakota

John Kruse - Air Force

Cody Kunyk - Alaska Fairbanks

Sean Wiles - Alaska Anchorage

Most Outstanding Player - Jason Gregoire - North Dakota