Senior Kyle Ostrow nets game-tying goal for Pioneers

Senior Kyle Ostrow had the game-tying goal for the Pioneers

Mankato, Minn. --- Minnesota State never trailed and got goals from four different players in Friday's 4-4 Western Collegiate Hockey Association tie with sixth-rated Denver.

The Mavericks drew first blood of the game when freshman forward Chase Grant redirected a shot from the point by senior blueliner Kurt Davis with the Mavericks on the power play at 11:46 in the only scoring play of the first period.

The Pioneers tied the score on the power play at 3:21 in the second period when senior Anthony Maiani put in the rebound of a shot from sophomore Matt Donovan that had bounced off MSU sophomore goaltender Phil Cook. DU struck again at 17:48 when freshman Jason Zucker took a pass from sophomore Drew Shore to put it past Cook from out front. MSU evened things up again when sophomore Eli Zuck deflected the shot of sophomore Tyler Elbrecht in front of DU freshman netminder Sam Brittain at 18:12.

MSU took the lead again in the third period at 9:04 when senior Channing Boe put in a long shot from the left point past Brittain. This was the first goal of the season for Boe. DU tied the game again on a goal by junior forward Luke Salazar at 11:28. MSU regained its last lead of the night after junior forward Justin Jokinen put the puck between the pads of Brittain at 18:13. With an extra skater on the ice, DU tied the Mavericks once more at 18:44 when senior Kyle Ostrow scored on a rebound. The overtime period was scoreless.

MSU netminder Phil Cook stopped the Pioneers 24 times, while Brittain kicked out 26 Mavericks shots. The Mavericks outshot the Pioneers 30-28. Kurt Davis and Rylan Galiardi each had two assists and Chase Grant had a goal and an assist on the night. Davis has now extended his scoring streak to four games.

The Mavericks are now 10-8-5 on the season (4-8-3 WCHA) and have gone 8-2-1 in their last 11 games, while Denver sits at 13-5-5 (9-3-3 WCHA). The two teams meet again Saturday night at 7:07 PM (CST) at the Verizon Wireless Center in downtown Mankato.