Senior forward Mikael Lickteig scores at 2:56 of overtime for Huskies

Mikael Lickteig scored the game-winner for the Huskies

OMAHA, Neb. - Mikael Lickteig scored in overtime to lift Michigan Tech to a 2-1 win over the Omaha hockey team on Saturday night at the CenturyLink Center.

The loss snapped a four-game winning streak for UNO at home and dropped the Mavs to 16-10-2 overall and 12-6-2 in the WCHA. Michigan Tech improved to 8-13-4 overall and 5-11-4 in the league. UNO finished the four-game season series with a 3-1-0 record against the Huskies.

On the game-winning goal, Lickteig took an up-ice pass, carried just across the UNO blue line before firing a shot that hit the top corner over John Faulkner's glove hand at 2:56. It was just the second goal of Lickteig's career.

After a scoreless first period, Michigan Tech opened the scoring just 1:18 of the second when David Johnstone picked up a loose puck, broke down the left wing and fired a shot that beat Faulkner to the blocker side.

The Mavericks had to weather a five-minute power play for Michigan Tech midway through the period when Alex Simonson was given a five-minute major for contact to the head. The Huskies' power play was short-circuited when Justin Fillion was handed a hooking penalty with a minute left in the power play.

UNO tied the game late in the period. Josh Archibald's check on Jujhar Khaira forced the puck free. Archibald then sped back the other way, working a perfect give-and-go with Tony Turgeon before backhanding a shot past goalie Pheonix Copley for his 15th goal of the year.

Faulkner made 26 saves, including several from point-blank range, but was denied his 53rd career victory which would have tied him with Dan Ellis for most in UNO history. Copley stopped 36 in earning his fifth win of the year.

The game was played in front of a season-high crowd of 9,248.

The Mavericks return to action on Friday and Saturday, Feb. 8-9 when they host North Dakota. Saturday's game will be played outdoors at TD Ameritrade Park, the home of the NCAA Division I Men's College World Series.