Alaska Anchorage Topped By St. Cloud State, 6-2, At Kendall Hockey Classic

Sophomore forward Tad Kozun scored a goal for the Seawolves
Prd Time  Team Score Type Scored By Assists
1st 5:43  STC1-0 EV Robby Jackson (1)Jon Lizotte/1, Patrick Russell/1
1st 8:50  STC2-0 PP Joey Benik (2)Jimmy Murray/2, Ethan Prow/1
1st 11:23  STC3-0 EV GW Robby Jackson (2)Patrick Russell/2, Kalle Kossila/2
2nd 2:56  AKA1-3 EV Tad Kozun (1)Blake Tatchell/1, Jeremiah Luedtke/1
2nd 5:30  AKA2-3 EV Matt Anholt (1)Wyatt Ege/1, Cam Amantea/1
3rd 1:30  STC4-2 EV Jimmy Murray (1)David Morley/2, Nathan Widman/2
3rd 7:03  STC5-2 PP David Morley (1)Ethan Prow/2, Kalle Kossila/3
3rd 11:44  STC6-2 SH EN Judd Peterson (2)Ben Storm/1
Scoring 1st 2nd 3rd Final
St. Cloud State  3036
Alaska Anchorage  0202
Shots on Goal 1st 2nd 3rd SOG
St. Cloud State  1361332
Alaska Anchorage  53917
Team Stats and Records  PP PIM SHGF
St. Cloud State (2-0-0)  2/6 6/20 1
Alaska Anchorage (1-1-0)  0/4 7/14 0
St. Cloud State Goaltending MIN GA 1 2 3 Saves
Rasmus Reijola (W, 1-0-0)60:002 51915
Alaska Anchorage Goaltending MIN GA 1 2 3 Saves
Olivier Mantha (L, 1-1-0)59:035 1061026
Empty Net0:571     

ANCHORAGE - Freshman winger Robby Jackson scored a pair of first-period goals Saturday to lift No. 17 St. Cloud State to a 6-2 victory over host Alaska Anchorage and the title of the Kendall Hockey Classic at Sullivan Arena.

The Huskies (2-0-0) also got a late insurance goal from tournament Most Outstanding Player David Morley, while goaltender Rasmus Reijola made 15 saves.

The Seawolves (1-1-0) fell behind 3-0 after the first period but drew closer on even-strength strikes from sophomore left wing Tad Kozun and sophomore center Matt Anholt early in the second.

St. Cloud State took control early just 90 seconds into the third period, however, when Jimmy Morley buried a feed from Morley and Nathan Widman. Morley scored at the 7:30 mark, and Judd Peterson earned his second goal of the weekend at 11:44 to close the scoring.

UAA goalie Olivier Mantha made 26 saves in the loss, which snapped an 11-game unbeaten streak (8-0-3) for the Seawolves in their season-opening tournament.

2015 Kendall Hockey Classic
Final Standings

St. Cloud State (2-0-0)
Alaska Anchorage (1-1-0)
Arizona State (1-1-0)
Alaska (0-2-0)

All-Tournament Team
Ryan Belonger, Arizona State
Tyler Morley, Alaska
Brad Duwe, Alaska Anchorage
Wyatt Ege, Alaska Anchorage
Joey Benik, St. Cloud State
Robby Jackson, St. Cloud State

Most Outstanding Player: David Morley, St. Cloud State