Ferris State Takes Broadmoor Trophy With 2-1 Win Over Minnesota State
Freshman goaltender Darren Smith named WCHA Final Five Most Valuable Player

Freshman goaltender Darren Smith stopped 43 of 44 shots on the weekend and was named WCHA Final Five Most Valuable Player
Prd Time  Team Score Type Scored By Assists
1st 10:33  MNS1-0 PP Bryce Gervais (16)Brad McClure/8, Jon Jutzi/10
1st 14:55  FSU1-1 PP Brandon Anselmini (2)Ryan Lowney/11, Andrew Dorantes/12
2nd 19:34  FSU2-1 PS GW Gerald Mayhew (14) -
Scoring 1st 2nd 3rd Final
Ferris State  1102
Minnesota State  1001
Shots on Goal 1st 2nd 3rd SOG
Ferris State  139729
Minnesota State  76114
Team Stats and Records  PP PIM SHGF
Ferris State (19-14-6)  1/5 8/27 0
Minnesota State (21-13-7)  1/4 10/31 0
Ferris State Goaltending MIN GA 1 2 3 Saves
Darren Smith (W, 16-9-5)60:001 66113
Minnesota State Goaltending MIN GA 1 2 3 Saves
Cole Huggins (L, 13-11-2)58:592 128727
Empty Net1:010     

Grand Rapids, Mich. - A 2-1 victory in the WCHA Championship game on Saturday (March 19) night at Van Andel Arena over the Minnesota State Mavericks gave Ferris State men's ice hockey its first ever conference tournament title, claiming the league's Broadmoor Trophy for the 2016 season.

BONUS LINKS: Ferris State Press Conference Video | Minnesota State Press Conference Video

Junior forward Gerald Mayhew continued his playoff career magic by netting the game-winning goal on a penalty shot in the second period. Senior defenseman Brandon Anselmini also scored for Ferris State, while freshman goaltender Darren Smith made 13 saves on 14 shots and earned the WCHA Tournament's Most Valuable Player honors.

The Mavericks were the first team on the board, when senior forward Bryce Gervais scored at 10:33 of the first period on the power play from Brad McClure and Jon Jutzi. McClure laced a shot from the faceoff circle to the right of Smith that Gervais deflected in between Smith's shoulder and the post.

Ferris State evened the score a little over three minutes later at 14:55 of the first when Anselmini netted his second of the year, also on the power play. Junior defenseman Ryan Lowney and sophomore forward Andrew Dorantes both had assists on the tying goal.

Anselmini came to the top of the faceoff circle to the right of Maverick goaltender Cole Huggins and wired a shot over his shoulder to make the score 1-1.

In the second period, a scramble in front of the Minnesota State net yielded a big break for the Bulldogs. Maverick defenseman Carter Foguth closed his hand on the puck in the goal crease, and the officials awarded Ferris State a penalty shot.

After very little deliberation, Head Coach Bob Daniels sent Mayhew to take the shot, where he converted on a nifty move before going top shelf on Huggins.

Minnesota State attempted to push back, but Jaden Schmeisser took a 5 minute penalty and a game misconduct with 5:43 to play, and the Mavericks never recovered.

Ferris State took down both of the 2016 WCHA Regular Season Co-Champions in the Final Five after offing Michigan Tech on Friday (March 18) 1-0.

Three Bulldogs were named to the WCHA All-Tournament team, with Anselmini and Mayhew being joined by senior forward Kenny Babinski. Smith was named tournament MVP for Ferris State as well, allowing just one goal in FSU's last two playoff games.

Smith improved to 16-9-5 overall, as Ferris State moved to 19-14-6. Huggins was pegged with the loss, falling to 13-11-2 while the Mavericks finished 21-13-7.

The Bulldogs have earned the automatic bid to the NCAA tournament with their victory over the Mavericks, and will enter the NCAA tournament for the third time in the last five seasons. The NCAA Men's Ice Hockey Selection Show will air at 12:00 pm ET on ESPNU. Stay tuned to FerrisStateBulldogs.com for more updates.