Alabama Huntsville

Alabama Huntsville Quick Facts

Location: Huntsville, Alabama
Year Founded: 1950
Enrollment: 7,348
Nickname: Chargers
Colors: Royal Blue and White
President: Dr. Robert Altenkirch
Director of Athletics: Dr. E. J. Brophy
Faculty Athletic Representative: Dr. Brent Wren
Athletic Dept. Phone: 256-824-6332


Team History

First Year in Division-I: 1986-87, then back from Division-II in 1998-99
NCAA Division-I Team Record: 259-394-52 (22 D-I seasons)


Facility Information

Name/Capacity: Von Braun Center (6,602)
Dimensions: 200x85
Ticket Office Phone: 256-824-7825
Address: 700 Monroe Street Southwest, Huntsville, AL 35801

Directions to Arena

From Memorial Parkway: Take the Clinton Avenue exit and turn right. Turn right at Monroe Street. The arena is on the right with a parking garage on the left.

From I-565: Take the Washington Street exit and turn towards downtown. Make a right on Monroe Street. The arena is on the right, with a parking garage on the left.


Coaches/Support Staff

Head Coach: Mike Corbett (Denver, '96)
     • Record at UAH: 26-104-14 (4 seasons)
     • Career Record: Same

Assistant Coaches
     • Gavin Morgan (Denver, '99)
     • Matty Thomas (U.S. Naval Academy, '05)

Support Staff
     • Nick Laurila, Director of Hockey Ops
     • Cliff Rogers, Volunteer Assistant Coach
     • Tyler Shimizu, Head Strength Coach
     • Jeff Kinard, Head Athletic Trainer
     • Sean Venckus, Assistant Athletic Trainer
     • Damon Wheeler, Equipment Manager


Athletics Communications

Hockey Contact: Sam Baldwin
Office Phone: 256-824-2201
Email: Samuel.baldwin@uah.edu
Press Box Phone: 440-725-2541
Website: uahchargers.com
Hockey-specific Twitter: @uahhockey
Hockey-specific Instagram: uah.hockey
Athletics Twitter: @uahchargers
Athletics Facebook: facebook.com/uahchargers
Athletics Instagram: uahchargers
Gameday Twitter: @gamedayuah


Media Directory

Print/Web
     • The Huntsville Times (Mark McCarter, Sports Editor, 509-9539, markcolumn@aol.com)
     • (Bud McLaughlin, Sports Reporter, 509-9598, budmclaughlin.blogspot.com)
     • The Birmingham News (Anthony Cook, Huntsville Director, 800-283-4001)
     • PenaltyBoxRadio.com (Justin Bradford, justin.bradford83@gmail.com, 615-775-7692)
     • UAHhockey.com (Geof Morris, g@uahhockey.com)

Radio
     • Radio: 97.7 WZZN (ESPN Radio "The Zone") (Steve Moulton, Program Director, stevem@977thezone.com)
     • 102.5 WPRT (ESPN Radio "The Game") (Troy Hanson, Program Director, thanson@cromwellradio.com)
     • Penalty Box Radio (Justin Bradford, justin.bradford83@gmail.com, 615-775-7692)

TV
     • WHNT (Channel 19/CBS) (Ryan Cody ryan.cody@whnt.com, 426-2098); (Chase Horn, chase.horn@whnt.com)
     • WAAY (Channel 31/ABC) (Mark Freeman mfreeman@waaytv.com, Sports Reporter, 783-5830) (Ryan Marshall, rmarshall@waaytv.com)
     • WAFF (Channel 48/NBC) (Scott Theisen, Sports Reporter, stheisen@waff.com, 655-2143) (Carl Prather, Sports Reporter, cprather@waff.com, 426-9726)

Broadcast schedule

     • Not tentatively scheduled to broadcast via TV or radio, will only go through WCHA.tv
     • Play-by-play announcer: Zachary Bryan