Hobey Baker Award WCHA TV WCHA
Shop Online
ST. CLOUD STATE'S DREW LEBLANC wins 2013 Hobey Baker Award
Becomes sixteenth WCHA player to receive nation's top college hockey honor
SCSU's Drew LeBlanc was the 2013 recipient of the Hobey Baker Award

The Hobey Baker Memorial Award announced today the 2013 recipient of college hockey's top individual prize is Drew LeBlanc from St. Cloud State University. The announcement came during the NCAA Frozen Four championship in a live ceremony held at Consol Energy Center in Pittsburgh, PA and aired live on NHL Network.

Becoming the first Hobey Baker Award recipient from St. Cloud State, Drew LeBlanc (pronounced la-BLAH), has been a key cog in the Huskies first ever appearance in the Frozen Four. St. Cloud State came up short losing 4-1 to Quinnipiac in the national semi-final game last night.

Hobey Baker was the legendary Princeton hockey player known as America's greatest amateur athlete one hundred years ago. He redefined how the game was played with his coast-to-coast dashes in an era when hockey was contested with seven players and no forward passes. Baker, a member of the U.S. Army's Air Corp, died testing a repaired aircraft at the end of World War I after he had completed his military service. The Hobey Baker Award criteria includes strength of character on and off the ice, displaying outstanding skills in all phases of the game, sportsmanship and scholastic achievements. LeBlanc was selected from a group of ten finalists by a 23-member selection committee and online fan balloting.

The masterful playmaking center had an outstanding season leading the nation with 37 assists in 42 games while contributing 13 goals for 50 total points (seventh in the nation). The two-year captain was an exemplary leader on the ice with creative playmaking while on the offensive and diligent effort defensively. LeBlanc had an innate ability to slow the game down, making smart puck decisions, skating a portion of the season with two freshman wingers.

LeBlanc, a fifth year senior from Hermantown, MN, was named First Team all-conference in the WCHA this past season and attained a first in the 52 year history of the WCHA, being named both the Outstanding Student-Athlete of the Year and the WCHA Player of the Year. A pro hockey free agent, LeBlanc returned to St. Cloud State for a final season after suffering a horrific broken leg injury early last season, receiving a medical redshirt from the NCAA, prompting a determined effort to return for unfinished business. Ironically, last year's Hobey Baker winner Jack Connolly, is from Duluth, Minn., a mere ten miles from LeBlanc's hometown.

Becoming only the fifth player in league history to earn Scholar-Athlete four times, LeBlanc took on an added academic load to complete his Math Education degree by student teaching. In the first semester his days began by driving 45 minutes to teach daily at an elementary school in Dassel-Cokato, and culminated in the second semester student teaching at St. Cloud Apollo High School. He has been active in community outreach programs assisting new students on campus with move-ins, helping out at local hockey clinics and participating in a variety of team functions throughout his career at St. Cloud State.

Hobey Baker Memorial Award Winners
Year Winner Position School
1981 Neal Broten F Minnesota
1982 George McPhee F Bowling Green
1983 Mark Fusco D Harvard
1984 Tom Kurvers D Minnesota Duluth
1985 Bill Watson F Minnesota Duluth
1986 Scott Fusco F Harvard
1987 Tony Hrkac F North Dakota
1988 Robb Stauber G Minnesota
1989 Lane MacDonald F Harvard
1990 Kip Miller F Michigan State
1991 David Emma F Boston College
1992 Scott Pellerin F Maine
1993 Paul Kariya F Maine
1994 Chris Marinucci F Minnesota Duluth
1995 Brian Holzinger F Bowling Green
1996 Brian Bonin F Minnesota
1997 Brendan Morrison F Michigan
1998 Chris Drury F Boston University
1999 Jason Krog F New Hampshire
2000 Mike Mottau D Boston College
2001 Ryan Miller G Michigan State
2002 Jordan Leopold D Minnesota
2003 Peter Sejna F Colorado College
2004 Junior Lessard F Minnesota Duluth
2005 Marty Sertich F Colorado College
2006 Matt Carle D Denver
2007 Ryan Duncan F North Dakota
2008 Kevin Porter F Michigan
2009 Matt Gilroy D Boston University
2010 Blake Geoffrion F Wisconsin
2011 Andy Miele F Miami University
2012 Jack Connolly F Minnesota Duluth
2013 Drew LeBlanc F St. Cloud State
2014 Johnny Gaudreau F Boston College