WCHA Press Releases

Minnesota Duluth vs. Minnesota and Ohio State vs. Wisconsin are the March 9 semifinals
Field Is Set For 2019 WCHA Final Faceoff
Minnesota Duluth vs. Minnesota and Ohio State vs. Wisconsin are the March 9 semifinals;
March 10 championship game winner earns NCAA Tournament bid

Opening Faceoff

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – March 2, 2019 – A stellar four-team field, including three programs ranked in the top-10 nationally, will compete for the women's Western Collegiate Hockey Association playoff championship at the 2019 WCHA Final Faceoff, set for March 9-10 at Ridder Arena in Minneapolis. Nationally top-ranked Minnesota, No. 2 Wisconsin, No. 10 Ohio State and Minnesota Duluth will vie for an automatic NCAA tournament berth at the premier conference tournament in women's college hockey.

2019 WCHA Final Faceoff

Saturday, March 9, 2019

  • Semifinal Game #1 (No. 4 Minnesota Duluth vs. No. 1 Minnesota) – 2:07 p.m. CT
  • Semifinal Game #2 (No. 3 Ohio State vs. No. 2 Wisconsin) – 5:07 p.m. CT

Sunday, March 10, 2019

  • Championship Game – 2:07 p.m. CT

3-Game, All-Tournament Packages

  • $35 – Reserved Chairback seating
  • $25 – General Admission (Adult)
  • $20 – General Admission (Seniors/Students/Youth/Groups of 10+)

Single-Session Packages (either for Saturday's semifinals or Sunday's Championship Game only)

  • $20 – Reserved Chairback seating
  • $15 – General Admission (Adult)
  • $12 – General Admission (Seniors/Students/Youth/Groups of 10+)
  • $10 – General Admission (Groups of 10+)

Ticket packages for the 2019 WCHA Final Faceoff are available for purchase directly through the Gopher Sales & Service Department; in-person at 3M Arena at Mariucci (during regular office hours of 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. CT, Monday-Friday), via phone at 612-624-8080 (Option 1) or online here. Certain fees may apply. Tournament top-seed Minnesota (29-4-1), which spent most of the season ranked as one of the nation's top two teams, earned a quarterfinal-round bye and Final Faceoff berth after winning the WCHA regular season crown. The Gophers will begin their quest for a second-straight Final Faceoff crown against fourth-seeded Minnesota Duluth (15-15-4) in the first semifinal at 2:07 p.m. CT on Saturday, March 9. Wisconsin (30-4-2), which is seeking its fourth Final Faceoff title in the last five years, will face third-seeded Ohio State (20-12-2) in the second semifinal at 5:07 p.m. CT.

The two semifinal winners will play Sunday, March 10 at 2:07 p.m. CT for the WCHA playoff championship and the league's automatic bid into the 2019 National Collegiate Women's Ice Hockey Championship.

The Gophers are making their 20th-consecutive appearance in the semifinals clinching the regular season title and the Julianne Bye Cup on the final weekend of the regular season. The Badgers, who share the WCHA record of seven league playoff championships with Minnesota, are playing in their ninth-straight WCHA Final Faceoff. The Buckeyes are making back-to-back Final Faceoff semifinal appearances for the first time in program history and are seeking their first Final Faceoff title. The Bulldogs return to the Final Faceoff for the first time since in 2017. The Bulldogs won their fifth – and most recent – Final Faceoff championship in 2010.

The league's showcase event and the best weekend of the year for women's college hockey fans, the three-day 2019 WCHA Final Faceoff will mark the culmination of the league's 20th Anniversary celebration. The WCHA thanks 2019 Final Faceoff supporting partners Embassy Suites by Hilton Downtown Minneapolis, Fox Sports North, GELSTX, GoodWood Hockey, Howies Hockey Tape, RBC Wealth Management, The Tearse-Wright Group of RBC Wealth Management, Sports Minneapolis and Wicked Rags.

About Ridder Arena

The first-ever facility built specifically for women's hockey in the country, Ridder Arena is home to the seven-time national champion University of Minnesota Golden Gopher Women's Hockey Program. Since its opening in 2002, Ridder Arena has been a regular host of WCHA Championships (2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2013, 2016, 2017 and 2018), NCAA Regionals and Frozen Fours (2010, 2013 and 2015).