WCHA Press Releases

Gophers and Buckeyes will skate outdoors at Parade Stadium in Minneapolis on Saturday afternoon
No. 1 Minnesota Meets No. 5 Ohio State As Part Of Hockey Day Minnesota
Gophers and Buckeyes will skate outdoors at Parade Stadium in Minneapolis on Saturday afternoon

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – Jan. 16, 2020 – Two of the Western Collegiate Hockey Association's top teams will take their game outside when No. 1/1 Minnesota hosts No. 5/5 Ohio State at Parade Stadium in Minneapolis on Saturday, Jan. 18, as part of the 2020 Hockey Day Minnesota festivities.

The Golden Gophers and Buckeyes will drop the puck at 4:30 p.m. CT on Saturday at the Parade Stadium rink in what will be the second game of their WCHA weekend series. The two teams will also meet on Friday evening at Ridder Arena at 6:07 p.m. CT. Both games will stream live on FloHockey.tv with Saturday's game also airing live on Fox Sports North.

Top-ranked Minnesota (19-1-3 overall/11-1-2-1 WCHA) sits atop the WCHA standings with 36 points. Ohio State (21-2-1/8-3-3-1), which checks in at No. 5 in both national polls this week, is in third place in the league standings with 28 points.

Saturday's contest will be the first appearance for both squads at Hockey Day Minnesota and the first-ever outdoor game for the Buckeyes. This will be the second outdoor game in Minnesota women's hockey history. The Golden Gophers defeated Minnesota State, 4-0, in the Hockey City Classic at TCF Bank Stadium on Jan. 17, 2014.

The Ohio State-Minnesota matchup will cap three days of Hockey Day Minnesota competition on the Parade Stadium ice. The weekend gets underway with a pair of girl's high school games on Thursday – Holy Angels vs. Minneapolis at 6 p.m. CT and Grand Rapids-Greenway vs. Blake at 8 p.m. CT. Friday night will feature the State of Hockey Women's All-Star Game at 6 p.m. CT and an NHL alumni game at 7:30 p.m. CT. Saturday's schedule opens at 9:30 a.m. with a pair of boy's high school games – Warroad vs. Minneapolis at 9:30 a.m. CT and Blaine vs. Blake at 1 p.m. CT.

Tickets for all three days can be purchased here.

About Hockey Day Minnesota

Hockey Day Minnesota was originated in 2007 by the Minnesota Wild to celebrate the game that has made Minnesota the "State of Hockey." It is produced in partnership with FOX Sports North, Minnesota Hockey and the local community that serves as the host each year. Previous locations include Baudette Bay (2007, 2008), Phalen Park (2009), Hermantown (2010), Moorhead (2011), Minnetonka (2012), Grand Rapids (2013), Elk River (2014), Saint Paul (2015), Duluth (2016), Stillwater (2017), St. Cloud (2018) and Bemidji (2019). For more information, visit wild.com/HockeyDay.

About the Western Collegiate Hockey Association Women's League

The Women's League of the Western Collegiate Hockey Association is marking its 21st season in 2019-20. The nation's premier women's hockey conference, WCHA member institutions have won a record 17 national championships since the league's inception in 1999 (including 16 of a possible 19 NCAA titles), while producing seven Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award winners, 101 All-Americans and numerous Olympic and national team members. The seven-team, NCAA Division I conference consists of: Bemidji State University (Beavers), the University of Minnesota (Golden Gophers), the University of Minnesota Duluth (Bulldogs), Minnesota State University (Mavericks), Ohio State University (Buckeyes), St. Cloud State University (Huskies) and the University of Wisconsin (Badgers). For more information, visit wcha.com.