WCHA Press Releases

WCHA Women's League Honors 73 Student-Athletes With 2019-20 Scholar-Athlete Awards
Minnesota State's Emily Antony becomes 17th four-time honoree

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – Feb. 20, 2020 – The Western Collegiate Hockey Association, through University of Minnesota Faculty Athletics Representative and Women's League Chairman Dr. Perry Leo and WCHA Women's League Commissioner Jennifer Flowers, today announced the 73 student-athletes honored as the 2019-20 WCHA Women's League Scholar-Athlete Award recipients.

"On behalf of the Women's League of the Western Collegiate Hockey Association, I want to congratulate our 2019-20 WCHA Scholar-Athletes," Dr. Leo said. "This year's class is another in a long line of outstanding young women who have excelled in the classroom and on the ice at our member institutions. Our Scholar-Athlete honorees continue to give exemplary effort and dedication to all facets of the collegiate academic and athletic experience."

"It's exciting to see so many of our student-athletes excelling at a high level on and off the ice," Flowers said. "This is a testament to the commitment of our member institutions to the WCHA mission of providing an elite on- and off-ice experience to the young women who compete in the top league in women's hockey."

The WCHA Scholar-Athlete Award was developed through member men's and women's institutional Faculty Athletics Representatives and approved by the WCHA membership for the 2005-06 season. To earn recognition as a WCHA Scholar-Athlete, league-member student-athletes must have completed at least one year of residency at their present institution prior to the current academic year and must also have a grade-point average of at least 3.50 on a 4.0 scale for the previous two semesters or three quarters, or may qualify if his/her overall GPA is at least 3.50 for all terms at his or her present institution.

Over the 15 years of the award, there have now been more than 1,200 men's and women's WCHA Scholar-Athlete honorees representing every WCHA member institution. Forty-two of this season's 73 women's recipients are repeat honorees, with 18 of those earning recognition for the third time.

In addition, Minnesota State's Emily Antony is now the 17th four-time WCHA Scholar-Athlete Award honoree in the 15-year history of the award (men's and women's leagues combined).

2019-20 WCHA Women's League Scholar-Athlete Award recipients
(**** indicates four-time recipient; *** indicates three-time recipient; ** indicates two-time recipient):
Bemidji State (18)
Name Cl. Pos. Hometown
Lexi Baker So. G Lakeville, Minn.
Paige Beebe** Jr. F Ham Lake, Minn.
Lauren Bench*** RS-Jr. G Eagan, Minn.
Clair DeGeorge** Jr. F Anchorage, Alaska
Kerigan Dowhy** Jr. G The Pas, Man.
Abby Ecker** So. D Grey Eagle, Minn.
Lindsey Featherstone** Jr. F Woodbury, Minn.
Abby Halluska*** Sr. F Delano, Minn.
Jacqueline Kaasa*** Sr. F North Hudson, Wis.
Tina Kampa Jr. D Maple Grove, Minn.
Mak Langei** Jr. D East Grand Forks, Minn.
Haley Mack*** Sr. F East Grand Forks, Minn.
Ellie Moser So. F Farmington, Minn.
Graysen Myers So. F Fargo, N.D.
Heather Olson Sr. D Bemidji, Minn.
Kiki Radke*** Sr. F Hastings, Minn.
Claudia Verkerke So. F White Bear Lake, Minn.
Kara Werth** Jr. D Moorhead, Minn.

Minnesota (6)
Name Cl. Pos. Hometown
Emily Brown** Jr. D Blaine, Minn.
Taylor Heise So. F Lake City, Minn.
Gracie Ostertag So. D Shakopee, Minn.
Sarah Potomak RS-Sr. F Aldergrove, B.C.
Taylor Wente** Jr. F Plymouth, Minn.
Alex Woken*** Sr. F Fargo, N.D.

Minnesota Duluth (12)
Name Cl. Pos. Hometown
Taylor Anderson So. F Eagan, Minn.
Ashton Bell** Jr. F Deloraine, Man.
Sydney Brodt*** Sr. F North Oaks, Minn.
Kylie Hanley So. F Minnetonka, Minn.
McKenzie Hewett So. F Edmonton, Alta.
Ryleigh Houston*** Sr. F Winnipeg, Man.
Anna Klein** Jr. F Edina, Minn.
Anneke Linser So. F Lino Lakes, Minn.
Lizi Norton So. D Orono, Minn.
Naomi Rogge** Jr. F Eden Prairie, Minn.
Kailee Skinner So. D Penticton, B.C.
Emma Soderberg So. G Jarved, Sweden

Minnesota State (11)
Name Cl. Pos. Hometown
Emily Antony**** RS-Sr. F Rogers, Minn.
Claire Butorac So. F Andover, Minn.
Chloe Crosby*** Sr. G Lakeville, Minn.
Mariah Gardner Jr. F Eagle Lake, Ont.
Jordan Jackson*** Sr. D Maplewood, Minn.
Jessica Kondas** Jr. D Calgary, Alta.
Abigail Levy So. G Congers, N.Y.
Madison Oelkers So. F Warroad, Minn.
Sofia Poinar*** Sr. F Chanhassen, Minn.
McKenzie Sederberg*** Sr. D Andover, Minn.
Anna Wilgren So. D Hudson, Wis.

Ohio State (10)
Name Cl. Pos. Hometown
Madison Bizal So. D Elk River, Minn.
Andrea Braendli So. G Zurich, Switzerland
Jincy Dunne** RS-Sr. D O'Fallon, Mo.
Rebecca Freiburger*** Sr. F Rochester, Minn.
Emma Maltais** Jr. F Burlington, Ont.
Gabby Rosenthal So. F Blaine, Minn.
Sara Säkkinen So. F Pirkkala, Finland
Eve Savander So. D Joensuu, Finland
Tatum Skaggs** Jr. F Hartland, Wis.
Lynsey Wallace Jr. G Seven Hills, Ohio

St. Cloud State (10)
Name Cl. Pos. Hometown
Janine Alder*** Sr. G Zurich, Switzerland
Hannah Bates** Jr. D Trenton, Mich.
Katie Detert*** Sr. F Rhinelander, Wis.
Janna Haeg*** Sr. F Lakeville, Minn.
Laura Kluge** Jr. F Berlin, Germany
Brooke Kudirka*** Sr. F Omaha, Neb.
Emma Polusny** Jr. G Mound, Minn.
Karlie Ries So. G Sleepy Eye, Minn.
Hallie Theodosopoulos** . Sr. F/D Brookings, S.D.
Kenzie Wylie** Jr. D Ham Lake, Minn.

Wisconsin (6)
Name Cl. Pos. Hometown
Breanna Blesi** RS-So. G Maple Grove, Minn.
Grace Bowlby** Jr. D Edina, Minn.
Kristen Campbell RS-Sr. G Brandon, Man.
Britta Curl So. F Bismarck, N.D.
Cami Kronish So. G New York, N.Y.
Alexis Mauermann*** Sr. F Janesville, Wis.

About the Western Collegiate Hockey Association Women's League

The Women's League of the Western Collegiate Hockey Association is marking its 21st season in 2019-20. The nation's premier women's hockey conference, WCHA member institutions have won a record 17 national championships since the league's inception in 1999 (including 16 of a possible 19 NCAA titles), while producing seven Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award winners, 101 All-Americans and numerous Olympic and national team members. The seven-team, NCAA Division I conference consists of: Bemidji State University (Beavers), the University of Minnesota (Golden Gophers), the University of Minnesota Duluth (Bulldogs), Minnesota State University (Mavericks), Ohio State University (Buckeyes), St. Cloud State University (Huskies) and the University of Wisconsin (Badgers). For more information, visit wcha.com.