WCHA Press Releases

Ohio State, Wisconsin and Minnesota seeking the league's 18th national championship
WCHA Lands Three In NCAA Women's Ice Hockey Tournament Field
Ohio State, Wisconsin and Minnesota seeking the league's 18th national championship

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – March 9, 2020 – The Women's League of the Western Collegiate Hockey Association landed three teams in the 2020 NCAA Women's Ice Hockey Championship – 2020 WCHA Final Faceoff champion Ohio State, No. 2 seed Wisconsin and No. 4 seed Minnesota. The three are part of an eight-team field announced Sunday evening by the NCAA Women's Ice Hockey Committee. The Buckeyes, Badgers and Golden Gophers will be seeking the WCHA's 18th national title in its 21 seasons (including 17 NCAA crowns).

Wisconsin (28-5-3), which won its eighth WCHA regular season title this season, will host ECAC member Clarkson in a quarterfinal at LaBahn Arena on Saturday, March 14. Minnesota (27-6-3) will host fellow WCHA member Ohio State (24-8-6) at Ridder Arena Saturday, which was the site of Ohio State's thrilling 1-0 victory over Wisconsin in the WCHA Championship Game earlier on Sunday.

Minnesota has now advanced to the NCAA tournament in each season of head coach Brad Frost's 13-year tenure (and 18 times overall), while the Badgers are back in the national postseason for the seventh-straight campaign and 14th time overall. Ohio State is making its second NCAA trip all-time. The Buckeyes previously reached the national tournament in 2018.

Minnesota has won seven national titles (including the 2000 AWCHA crown), while hoisting a record six NCAA championship trophies (2004, 2005, 2012, 2013, 2015 and 2016). Wisconsin has won five national titles under head coach Mark Johnson (2006, 2007, 2009, 2011 and 2019).

NCAA Quarterfinal Matchups
No. 1 seed (at-large) Cornell (28-2-3) hosts (CHA champion) Mercyhurst (21-10-5)
No. 4 seed (at-large) Minnesota (27-6-3) hosts (WCHA champion) Ohio State (24-8-6)
No. 2 seed (at-large) Wisconsin (28-5-3) hosts (at-large) Clarkson (25-6-6)
No. 3 seed (WHEA champion) Northeastern (32-4-2) hosts (ECAC champion) Princeton (26-6-1)

The quarterfinal winners advance to the 2020 NCAA Women's Frozen Four, hosted by Boston University, at the Agganis Arena in Boston, Mass., March 20 & 22.

About the Western Collegiate Hockey Association Women's League

The Women's League of the Western Collegiate Hockey Association is marking its 21st season in 2019-20. The nation's premier women's hockey conference, WCHA member institutions have won a record 17 national championships since the league's inception in 1999 (including 16 of a possible 19 NCAA titles), while producing seven Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award winners, 101 All-Americans and numerous Olympic and national team members. The seven-team, NCAA Division I conference consists of: Bemidji State University (Beavers), the University of Minnesota (Golden Gophers), the University of Minnesota Duluth (Bulldogs), Minnesota State University (Mavericks), Ohio State University (Buckeyes), St. Cloud State University (Huskies) and the University of Wisconsin (Badgers). For more information, visit wcha.com.