WCHA Press Releases

WCHA Statement Regarding NCAA Decision To Cancel Winter And Spring Championships
Men's and Women's Frozen Fours will not be played

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – March 12, 2020 – WCHA President and Men's League Commissioner Bill Robertson and WCHA Vice President and Women's League Commissioner Jennifer Flowers released a joint statement today regarding the NCAA's decision to cancel all winter and spring championships for 2019-20, including the men's and women's ice hockey championships.

"We are in support of the NCAA's decision today, as the health and safety of our student-athletes, coaches, staff and fans is of utmost priority. We are heart-broken for our student-athletes who will no longer have the opportunity to compete for a National Championship. Many, many hours of hard work and dedication, by so many people, have been put into the season and we want to recognize and applaud each of our institutions for a tremendous 2019-20 season."

About the Western Collegiate Hockey Association (WCHA) Men's League

The Western Collegiate Hockey Association, among the most historic, tradition-rich and successful conferences in all of collegiate athletics, is marking its 68th season of men's competition in 2019-20. The 10-team NCAA Division I conference consists of the University of Alabama in Huntsville (Chargers), the University of Alaska Anchorage (Seawolves), the University of Alaska (Nanooks), Bemidji State University (Beavers), Bowling Green State University (Falcons), Ferris State University (Bulldogs), Lake Superior State University (Lakers), Michigan Technological University (Huskies), Minnesota State University (Mavericks) and Northern Michigan University (Wildcats).

About the Western Collegiate Hockey Association (WCHA) Women's League

The Women's League of the Western Collegiate Hockey Association is marking its 21st season in 2019-20. The nation's premier women's hockey conference, WCHA member institutions have won a record 17 national championships since the league's inception in 1999 (including 16 of a possible 19 NCAA titles), while producing seven Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award winners, 101 All-Americans and numerous Olympic and national team members. The seven-team, NCAA Division I conference consists of: Bemidji State University (Beavers), the University of Minnesota (Golden Gophers), the University of Minnesota Duluth (Bulldogs), Minnesota State University (Mavericks), Ohio State University (Buckeyes), St. Cloud State University (Huskies) and the University of Wisconsin (Badgers).

For more information, visit wcha.com.