WCHA Press Releases

Patty Kazmaier finalist chosen from among four candidates as the WCHA's top overall player
Wisconsin's Abby Roque Named 2019-20 WCHA Player of the Year, Presented By Sterling Trophy
Patty Kazmaier finalist chosen from among four candidates as the WCHA's top overall player

sterlingBLOOMINGTON, Minn. – Mar. 5, 2020 – The Women's League of the Western Collegiate Hockey Association is proud to recognize Wisconsin senior forward Abby Roque as its 2019-20 WCHA Player of the Year, presented by Sterling Trophy.

Roque, who was named the WCHA Offensive Player of the Year on Wednesday, was chosen for the top overall honor by league head coaches and assistant coaches from among a group of candidates that included WCHA Defensive Player of the Year Jincy Dunne of Ohio State, WCHA Goaltender of the Year Sydney Scobee of Minnesota and WCHA Rookie of the Year Madeline Wethington of Minnesota.

"I extend my congratulations to Abby Roque on her selection as our 2019-20 WCHA Player of the Year," WCHA Commissioner Jennifer Flowers said. "Abby has had a phenomenal season on the ice. Our league is home to many of the best collegiate women's hockey players, which makes this award all the more impressive. It is well-deserved recognition for Abby."

A top-three finalist for the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award, Roque potted 17 goals and 21 assists for 38 points in league play in 2019-20. The senior forward ranks seventh nationally in scoring with 57 points on 25 goals and 32 helpers in 34 total games. The Sault Ste. Marie, Mich., native boasts the most faceoff wins of any player in the NCAA at 494 and the second-best faceoff win percentage at 66.3. She headlines a Badgers offense that leads the nation in scoring as well as the best power-play unit, and has tallied five game-winning goals for second-ranked Wisconsin. On the man advantage Roque has scored a league-leading eight goals and added nine assists for 17 power-play points.

Roque enters this weekend's WCHA Final Faceoff in ninth place on Wisconsin's career scoring list with her 169 points. Additionally, her 114 career assists see her sitting in seventh in the Badger record books in career helpers after she became the eighth Badger to reach the century mark earlier this season.

About Sterling Trophy

Sterling Trophy has grown into a leader in the award and recognition industry in the Twin Cities since its founding in 1999. A family business that started in the basement of the home of founders David Steinbring and Patty Steinbring, Sterling Trophy's has built a proud tradition of quality service and unique products. For more information, visit sterlingtrophy.net

About the Western Collegiate Hockey Association Women's League

The Women's League of the Western Collegiate Hockey Association is marking its 21st season in 2019-20. The nation's premier women's hockey conference, WCHA member institutions have won a record 17 national championships since the league's inception in 1999 (including 16 of a possible 19 NCAA titles), while producing seven Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award winners, 101 All-Americans and numerous Olympic and national team members. The seven-team, NCAA Division I conference consists of: Bemidji State University (Beavers), the University of Minnesota (Golden Gophers), the University of Minnesota Duluth (Bulldogs), Minnesota State University (Mavericks), Ohio State University (Buckeyes), St. Cloud State University (Huskies) and the University of Wisconsin (Badgers). For more information, visit wcha.com.