WCHA Press Releases

Postseason honors continue to roll in for Badger senior
Wisconsin's Abby Roque Named USCHO Player Of The Year
Postseason honors continue to roll in for Badger senior

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – March 26, 2020 – Two days after earning first team All-America honors, Wisconsin's Abby Roque has been named the USCHO Player of the Year, the media outlet announced Thursday. The honor is the first of Roque's career.

Roque joins Ann-Renee Desbiens (2016), Brianna Decker (2012) and Sara Bauer (2006,2007) as the fourth Badger to receive USCHO Player of the Year recognition.

A top-three finalist for the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award and the WCHA Offensive and overall Player of the Year, Roque registered 58 points on 26 goals and 32 assists for the Badgers this season. Her totals were good for seventh nationally in scoring and fourth in the WCHA. The Sault Ste. Marie, Mich., native led the NCAA in faceoff wins with 523 and finished second in faceoff win percentage at .656 (523-of-797).

She headlined a Badgers offense that led the country in goals (160), assists (264), points (424), goals per game (4.57) and power-play percentage (.359). Roque led the WCHA in power play goals with nine and tallied five game-winning goals for the Badgers.

Roque was named the WCHA Forward of the Week twice this season as well as the WCHA Forward of the Month in December. Roque's national honors this season include two NCAA Star of the Week nods (First Star- Nov. 19; Third Star- Dec. 10) as well as CCM/AHCA First Team All-America honors.

The winner of the 2020 Patty Kazmaier winner will be announced on Friday. Roque, Clarkson's Elizabeth Giguere and Northeastern's Alina Mueller are the finalists for this year's award.

About the Western Collegiate Hockey Association Women's League

The Women's League of the Western Collegiate Hockey Association is marking its 21st season in 2019-20. The nation's premier women's hockey conference, WCHA member institutions have won a record 17 national championships since the league's inception in 1999 (including 16 of a possible 19 NCAA titles), while producing seven Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award winners, 101 All-Americans and numerous Olympic and national team members. The seven-team, NCAA Division I conference consists of: Bemidji State University (Beavers), the University of Minnesota (Golden Gophers), the University of Minnesota Duluth (Bulldogs), Minnesota State University (Mavericks), Ohio State University (Buckeyes), St. Cloud State University (Huskies) and the University of Wisconsin (Badgers). For more information, visit wcha.com.