WCHA Press Releases

St. Cloud State University Announces Pause In Women's Ice Hockey Activities Due To Positive COVID-19 Tests
Huskies' season-opening series with Bemidji State has been postponed

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – Nov. 15, 2020 – St. Cloud State University has paused all women's ice hockey team activities for at least the week of Nov. 15 due several positive COVID-19 tests within the Huskies' program, the university announced Sunday.

As a result of the pause, St. Cloud State's season-opening home series with Bemidji State set for Nov. 20-21 has been postponed. No make-up dates have been set at this time.

"I share the disappointment being felt by the student-athletes and coaches at both St. Cloud State and Bemidji State," WCHA Women's League Commissioner Jennifer Flowers said. "The first priority of the WCHA and our member institutions has always been the health and well-being of everyone associated with our seven programs. St. Cloud State continues to follow local, state, NCAA and WCHA guidelines regarding COVID-19 testing and tracking and we hope to see them back on the ice soon."

As of Sunday morning (Nov. 15), a total of eight people within the St. Cloud State women's hockey program have tested positive for COVID-19 in the past nine days. The student-athletes who meet the criteria for mandatory quarantine based on contact tracing guidelines will remain in quarantine for 14 days. COVID testing for all women's hockey student-athletes will continue throughout the season.

St. Cloud State's next scheduled series is Nov. 27-28 against Minnesota State at the Herb Brooks National Hockey Center. Bemidji State will now make its season debut Dec. 4-5 at home against Minnesota State.

About the Western Collegiate Hockey Association Women's League

The Women's League of the Western Collegiate Hockey Association will mark its 22nd season in 2020-21. The nation's premier women's hockey conference, WCHA member institutions have won a record 17 national championships since the league's inception in 1999 (including 16 of a possible 19 NCAA titles), while producing seven Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award winners, 105 All-Americans and numerous Olympic and national team members. The seven-team, NCAA Division I conference consists of: Bemidji State University (Beavers), the University of Minnesota (Golden Gophers), the University of Minnesota Duluth (Bulldogs), Minnesota State University (Mavericks), The Ohio State University (Buckeyes), St. Cloud State University (Huskies) and the University of Wisconsin (Badgers). The WCHA will grow to eight members with the addition of the University of St. Thomas (Tommies) beginning with the 2021-22 season. For more information, visit wcha.com.