WCHA Press Releases

Dec. 11-12 Ohio State-Minnesota Series Postponed
Gopher-Buckeye rematch delayed to later in the 2020-21 season

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – Dec. 3, 2020 – The WCHA Women's League series between 4/4 The Ohio State University and 3/3 University of Minnesota scheduled for Dec. 11-12 in Columbus, Ohio has been postponed.

Ohio State will be unable to meet the minimum number of players required to compete outlined in the WCHA's Return to Competition protocols. As a result, the series will be postponed to later in the season.

About the Western Collegiate Hockey Association Women's League

The Women's League of the Western Collegiate Hockey Association will mark its 22nd season in 2020-21. The nation's premier women's hockey conference, WCHA member institutions have won a record 17 national championships since the league's inception in 1999 (including 16 of a possible 19 NCAA titles), while producing seven Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award winners, 105 All-Americans and numerous Olympic and national team members. The seven-team, NCAA Division I conference consists of: Bemidji State University (Beavers), the University of Minnesota (Golden Gophers), the University of Minnesota Duluth (Bulldogs), Minnesota State University (Mavericks), The Ohio State University (Buckeyes), St. Cloud State University (Huskies) and the University of Wisconsin (Badgers). The WCHA will grow to eight members with the addition of the University of St. Thomas (Tommies) beginning with the 2021-22 season. For more information, visit wcha.com.