WCHA Press Releases

WCHA Postpones Wisconsin's Final Two December Series
Badgers will be unable to meet WCHA roster minimums for Dec. 11-12 and Dec. 18-19 matchups

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – Dec. 7, 2020 – The Western Collegiate Hockey Association Women's League series involving the University of Wisconsin Dec. 11-12 against Minnesota Duluth and Dec. 18-19 against Ohio State will not be played as scheduled. Both series were set to take place in Madison, Wis.

Wisconsin will be unable to meet the minimum number of players required to compete outlined in the WCHA's Return to Competition protocols. As a result, both series have been postponed.

About the Western Collegiate Hockey Association Women's League

The Women's League of the Western Collegiate Hockey Association will mark its 22nd season in 2020-21. The nation's premier women's hockey conference, WCHA member institutions have won a record 17 national championships since the league's inception in 1999 (including 16 of a possible 19 NCAA titles), while producing seven Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award winners, 105 All-Americans and numerous Olympic and national team members. The seven-team, NCAA Division I conference consists of: Bemidji State University (Beavers), the University of Minnesota (Golden Gophers), the University of Minnesota Duluth (Bulldogs), Minnesota State University (Mavericks), The Ohio State University (Buckeyes), St. Cloud State University (Huskies) and the University of Wisconsin (Badgers). The WCHA will grow to eight members with the addition of the University of St. Thomas (Tommies) beginning with the 2021-22 season. For more information, visit wcha.com.