WCHA Press Releases

2021 WCHA Final Faceoff Field Set
Wisconsin will meet Minnesota and Minnesota Duluth will face Ohio State in the March 6 semifinals
Winners to square off in Final Faceoff championship game on March 7

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – Feb. 27, 2021 – A stellar field featuring four top-10 programs will compete in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association's 2021 Final Faceoff, set for March 6-7 at Ridder Arena in Minneapolis. No. 1/1 Wisconsin, No. 3/3 Ohio State, No. 4/4 Minnesota and No. 7/6 Minnesota Duluth will vie for the WCHA Championship Trophy and an automatic NCAA tournament berth at the premier conference tournament in women's college hockey.

Regular season champion Wisconsin clinched its ninth WCHA league title – and second in a row – on the season's final day with a come-from-behind 4-3 overtime win over Minnesota Duluth. The Badgers will meet fourth-seeded Minnesota in next Saturday's first semifinal at 1:07 p.m. CT. Wisconsin finished 3-0-1 against the Gophers this season.

Second-seeded Minnesota Duluth will face No. 3 seed and defending Final Faceoff champion Ohio State in the second semifinal next Saturday at 5:07 p.m. CT. The two teams split their only series of the season on Jan. 15-16 in Duluth. The home-standing Bulldogs took the series opener, 2-0, before Ohio State rebounded the following day with a shutout of their own, winning 1-0.

2021 WCHA Final Faceoff

The 2021 WCHA Final Faceoff will be held March 6-7, 2021 at Ridder Arena in Minneapolis. Annually featuring a collection of the nation's highest-ranked programs and best players, the WCHA's four remaining teams will compete for the league's playoff championship and an automatic berth in the 2021 NCAA tournament.

Saturday, March 6, 2021
Semifinal Game 1 (No. 1 Wisconsin vs. No. 4 Minnesota) – 1:07 p.m. CT
Semifinal Game 2 (No. 2 Minnesota Duluth vs. No. 3 Ohio State) – 5:07 p.m. CT

Sunday, March 7, 2021
Championship Game (Semifinal 1 Winner vs. Semifinal 2 Winner) – 2:07 p.m. CT

All games will stream live on FloHockey.tv.

The Badgers, who have won a WCHA record eight league playoff championships, are playing in their 11th-straight WCHA Final Faceoff. The Gophers are making their 22nd-consecutive appearance in the semifinals. The Buckeyes are making their fourth-straight Final Faceoff semifinal appearances for the first time in program history and are seeking to defend their 2020 Final Faceoff title. The Bulldogs return to the Final Faceoff for the fourth time in the last five years. UMD won its fifth – and most recent – Final Faceoff championship in 2010.

Attendance at the 2021 Final Faceoff will be limited to team guests only. No tickets will be available for public sale.

The WCHA thanks 2021 Final Faceoff supporting partners adidas, FloHockey, Howies Hockey Tape, Kowalski's Markets, Krampade, JLG, Sterling Trophy and SPX Sports.

About the Western Collegiate Hockey Association Women's League

The Women's League of the Western Collegiate Hockey Association is marking its 22nd season in 2020-21. The nation's premier women's hockey conference, WCHA member institutions have won a record 17 national championships since the league's inception in 1999 (including 16 of a possible 19 NCAA titles), while producing seven Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award winners, 105 All-Americans and numerous Olympic and national team members. The seven-team, NCAA Division I conference consists of: Bemidji State University (Beavers), the University of Minnesota (Golden Gophers), the University of Minnesota Duluth (Bulldogs), Minnesota State University (Mavericks), The Ohio State University (Buckeyes), St. Cloud State University (Huskies) and the University of Wisconsin (Badgers). The WCHA will grow to eight members with the addition of the University of St. Thomas (Tommies) beginning with the 2021-22 season. For more information, visit wcha.com.