WCHA Press Releases

WCHA Lands Seven On Women's Hockey Goalie Of The Year Award Watch List
Bench, Blair, Braendli, Dowhy, Frank, Polusny and Söderberg among 21 netminders selected

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – February 5, 2021 – Seven Western Collegiate Hockey Association netminders are among the 21 goaltenders named to the Hockey Commissioners Association's Women's Hockey Goalie of the Year Award watch list released Friday.

The Women's Hockey Commissioners Association announced the creation of a new award in the 2020-21 season to recognize the top goaltender in NCAA Division I women's hockey.

Named to the watch list from the WCHA are Kerigan Dowhy of Bemidji State, Lauren Bench of Minnesota, Emma Söderberg of Minnesota Duluth, Calla Frank of Minnesota State, Andrea Braendli of Ohio State, Emma Polusny of St. Cloud State and Kennedy Blair of Wisconsin.

The WCHA boasts the most candidates named to the watch list with the CHA and Hockey East following with six tabbed goaltenders apiece.

A committee of voters — made up of a cross section of coaches, administrators and media — will pare this list down in the next two weeks and then ultimately choose the winner who will be announced in March during the NCAA Frozen Four.

About the Western Collegiate Hockey Association Women's League

The Women's League of the Western Collegiate Hockey Association is marking its 22nd season in 2020-21. The nation's premier women's hockey conference, WCHA member institutions have won a record 17 national championships since the league's inception in 1999 (including 16 of a possible 19 NCAA titles), while producing seven Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award winners, 105 All-Americans and numerous Olympic and national team members. The seven-team, NCAA Division I conference consists of: Bemidji State University (Beavers), the University of Minnesota (Golden Gophers), the University of Minnesota Duluth (Bulldogs), Minnesota State University (Mavericks), The Ohio State University (Buckeyes), St. Cloud State University (Huskies) and the University of Wisconsin (Badgers). The WCHA will grow to eight members with the addition of the University of St. Thomas (Tommies) beginning with the 2021-22 season. For more information, visit wcha.com.