WCHA Press Releases

Wisconsin's Daryl Watts Honored As National Player Of The Month
Badgers forward receives national recognition for January performance

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – February 4, 2021 – The Hockey Commissioners Association has named Wisconsin senior Daryl Watts its National Player of the Month for January the HCA announced Tuesday.

Watts performed superbly for Wisconsin during the month of January, leading the Badgers to a 7-1-0 record. The senior forward posted a WCHA-leading and NCAA-best 18 points during the first month of 2021 despite the Badgers playing only eight games during the month. Her 10 goals led the WCHA and the country while her eight assists ranked second in the league behind linemate Sophie Shirley. Her +13 plus/minus rating also led the WCHA and ranked fifth nationally. Watts scored in seven of her eight games in January and enters February with a six-game goal streak. The Toronto, Ont., native also was one of six NCAA skaters to post a hat trick during the month. Her 2.25 points per game average led the country during January.

The national honor is Watts' sixth overall National Player of the Month honor and her second as a Badger. This month's award marks the second national honor for the WCHA in 2020-21. Minnesota's Lauren Bench received Goaltender of the Month honors in November. The other HCA honorees for January were Northeastern's Aerin Frankel who claimed Goaltender of the Month honors and Clarkson's Michelle Pasiechnyk who earned Rookie of Month honors.

About the Western Collegiate Hockey Association Women's League

The Women's League of the Western Collegiate Hockey Association is marking its 22nd season in 2020-21. The nation's premier women's hockey conference, WCHA member institutions have won a record 17 national championships since the league's inception in 1999 (including 16 of a possible 19 NCAA titles), while producing seven Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award winners, 105 All-Americans and numerous Olympic and national team members. The seven-team, NCAA Division I conference consists of: Bemidji State University (Beavers), the University of Minnesota (Golden Gophers), the University of Minnesota Duluth (Bulldogs), Minnesota State University (Mavericks), The Ohio State University (Buckeyes), St. Cloud State University (Huskies) and the University of Wisconsin (Badgers). The WCHA will grow to eight members with the addition of the University of St. Thomas (Tommies) beginning with the 2021-22 season. For more information, visit wcha.com.