WCHA Press Releases

WCHA Lands Three In NCAA Women's Ice hockey Tournament Field
Badgers, Buckeyes and Bulldogs earn top-five seeds

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – March 7, 2021 – The Women's League of the Western Collegiate Hockey Association landed three teams in the 2021 NCAA Women's Ice Hockey Championship – 2021 WCHA Final Faceoff champion Wisconsin, regular-season runner-up Minnesota Duluth and Final Faceoff finalist Ohio State. The trio are part of an eight-team field announced Sunday evening by the NCAA Women's Ice Hockey Committee. The Badgers, Bulldogs and Buckeyes will be seeking the WCHA's 18th national title in its 22 seasons (including 17 NCAA crowns).

The 2020-21 NCAA Women's Ice Hockey Championship will take place March 15-20 at Erie Insurance Arena in Erie, Pa. The four quarterfinal matchups will take place on March 15-16 with the four winners advancing to the Women's Frozen Four on March 18. The national championship game will take place March 20. All seven games will air on the ESPN's broadcast and digital platforms.

Wisconsin (14-3-1), which won its ninth WCHA regular season and postseason titles this year, earns the NCAA No. 2 seed and will meet Hockey East third-place finisher Providence (12-7-1), the final at-large team in the field as the No. 7 seed. The Badgers and Friars will square off in the first quarterfinal on March 16 at 2 p.m. ET.

Ohio State (12-6-0), which advanced to the Final Faceoff championship game for the second year in a row, is the No. 3 NCAA seed and will face sixth-seeded Boston College (14-5-0) in the second quarterfinal on March 16 at 7 p.m. ET.

Fifth-seeded Minnesota Duluth (11-6-0) earns its 12th NCAA bid and first since 2017 and will meet ECAC automatic qualifier Colgate (15-6-1) in the second quarterfinal on March 15 at 7 p.m. ET.

Wisconsin has won five national titles under head coach Mark Johnson (2006, 2007, 2009, 2011 and 2019) and reached the Frozen Four 11 times. Ohio State, which reached the Frozen Four in 2018, is making its third appearance in the national tournament (2018, 2020, 2021), all under head coach Nadine Muzerall. Five-time NCAA champion Minnesota Duluth is making its first NCAA trip under head coach Maura Crowell this season.

NCAA Quarterfinal

Monday, March 15
2 p.m. ET- No. 1 seed (WHEA champion) Northeastern (20-1-1) vs. No. 8 seed (CHA champion) Robert Morris (16-7-1)
7 p.m. ET- No. 4 seed (ECAC champion) Colgate (15-6-1) vs. No. 5 (at-large) Minnesota Duluth (11-6-0)

Tuesday, March 16
2 p.m. ET- No. 2 seed (WCHA champion) Wisconsin (14-3-1) vs. No. 7 (at-large) Providence (12-7-1)
7 p.m. ET- No. 3 seed (at-large) Ohio State (12-6-0) vs. No. 6 (at large) seed Boston College (14-5-0)

Start times for the March 18 national semifinals are TBD.

About the Western Collegiate Hockey Association Women's League

The Women's League of the Western Collegiate Hockey Association is marking its 22nd season in 2020-21. The nation's premier women's hockey conference, WCHA member institutions have won a record 17 national championships since the league's inception in 1999 (including 16 of a possible 19 NCAA titles), while producing seven Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award winners, 105 All-Americans and numerous Olympic and national team members. The seven-team, NCAA Division I conference consists of: Bemidji State University (Beavers), the University of Minnesota (Golden Gophers), the University of Minnesota Duluth (Bulldogs), Minnesota State University (Mavericks), The Ohio State University (Buckeyes), St. Cloud State University (Huskies) and the University of Wisconsin (Badgers). The WCHA will grow to eight members with the addition of the University of St. Thomas (Tommies) beginning with the 2021-22 season. For more information, visit wcha.com.