WCHA Press Releases

Wisconsin's Daryl Watts Named 2020-21 WCHA Player of the Year, Presented By Sterling Trophy
Patty Kazmaier finalist chosen from among six candidates as the WCHA's top overall player

sterlingBLOOMINGTON, Minn. – Mar. 5, 2021 – The Women's League of the Western Collegiate Hockey Association is proud to recognize Wisconsin senior forward Daryl Watts as its 2020-21 WCHA Player of the Year, presented Sterling Trophy.

Watts, who was named the WCHA Forward of the Year on Thursday, was chosen for the top overall honor by league head coaches and assistant coaches from among the All-WCHA First Team selections that included Wisconsin junior forward Sophie Shirley, Minnesota senior forward Grace Zumwinkle, Minnesota Duluth senior defenseman Ashton Bell, Wisconsin senior defenseman Grace Bowlby and Minnesota Duluth junior goaltender Emma Söderberg.

"Congratulations to Daryl Watts on her selection as our 2020-21 WCHA Player of the Year," WCHA Commissioner Jennifer Flowers said. "Daryl has had another outstanding season and this award is well-deserved. The WCHA is home to many of the nation's best collegiate women's hockey players, which makes this award all the more impressive."

A 2021 top-10 finalist and the 2018 winner of the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award, Watts has potted 15 goals and 16 assists for 31 points in 2020-21. The senior forward ranks second nationally in point scoring and is one of only 16 skaters to record a hat trick this season.

The Toronto, Ont., native boasts the best points per game (1.94) and goals per game averages (0.94) of any player who has played more than two games.

Watts headlines a Badgers offense that ranks fourth in the nation and has tallied two crucial game-winning overtime goals for Wisconsin, including the Julianne Bye Cup clincher against Minnesota Duluth in the final game of the regular season.

Watts secured the WCHA scoring championship for the second-straight year with her 31 points, becoming only the third player in league history to earn the title in back-to-back years.

She recorded points in 15 of the Badgers' 16 games and registered a seven-game goal-scoring streak during the season.

Watts is the third Badger to win the award in as many years and the eighth in school history, joining two-time winner Sara Bauer (2005-06, 2006-07), Hilary Knight (2008-09), Meghan Duggan (2010-11), Brianna Decker (2011-12), Ann-Renée Desbiens (2015-16), Annie Pankowski (2018-19) and Abby Roque (2019-20).

WCHA MVPs/Players of the Year
Year Name, Position, Team
1999-00 Jenny Schmidgall-Potter, F, So., Minnesota Duluth
2000-01 Courtney Kennedy, D, Sr., Minnesota
2001-02 Ronda Curtin, D/F, Jr., Minnesota
2002-03 Jenny Schmidgall-Potter, F, Jr., Minnesota Duluth
2003-04 Krissy Wendell, F, So., Minnesota
2004-05 Krissy Wendell, F, Jr., Minnesota
2005-06 Sara Bauer, F, Jr., Wisconsin
2006-07 Sara Bauer, F, Sr., Wisconsin
2007-08 Tessa Bonhomme, D, Sr., Ohio State
2008-09 Hilary Knight, F, So., Wisconsin
2009-10 Felicia Nelson, F, Sr., St. Cloud State
Zuzana Tomcikova, G, So., Bemidji State (tie)
2010-11 Meghan Duggan, F, Sr., Wisconsin
2011-12 Brianna Decker, F, Jr., Wisconsin
2012-13 Amanda Kessel, F, Jr., Minnesota
2013-14 Hannah Brandt, F, So., Minnesota
2014-15 Hannah Brandt, F, Jr. Minnesota
2015-16 Ann-Renée Desbiens, G, Jr., Wisconsin
2016-17 Lara Stalder, F, Sr., Minnesota Duluth
2017-18 Sydney Baldwin, D, Sr., Minnesota
2018-19 Annie Pankowski, F, Sr., Wisconsin
2019-20 Abby Roque, F, Sr., Wisconsin
2020-21 Daryl Watts, F, Sr., Wisconsin

About Sterling Trophy

Sterling Trophy has grown into a leader in the award and recognition industry in the Twin Cities since its founding in 1999. A family business that started in the basement of the home of founders David Steinbring and Patty Steinbring, Sterling Trophy's has built a proud tradition of quality service and unique products. For more information, visit sterlingtrophy.net

About the Western Collegiate Hockey Association Women's League

The Women's League of the Western Collegiate Hockey Association is marking its 22nd season in 2020-21. The nation's premier women's hockey conference, WCHA member institutions have won a record 17 national championships since the league's inception in 1999 (including 16 of a possible 19 NCAA titles), while producing seven Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award winners, 105 All-Americans and numerous Olympic and national team members. The seven-team, NCAA Division I conference consists of: Bemidji State University (Beavers), the University of Minnesota (Golden Gophers), the University of Minnesota Duluth (Bulldogs), Minnesota State University (Mavericks), The Ohio State University (Buckeyes), St. Cloud State University (Huskies) and the University of Wisconsin (Badgers). The WCHA will grow to eight members with the addition of the University of St. Thomas (Tommies) beginning with the 2021-22 season. For more information, visit wcha.com.