WCHA Press Releases

WCHA Announces B1G+ As Exclusive Streaming Partner
B1G+ and Big Ten Network Set to Broadcast all WCHA Matchups for 2021-22 Campaign

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – Sept. 1, 2021 – Expanding the coverage of college hockey, The Western Collegiate Hockey Association is excited to announce a revolutionary partnership with the Big Ten Network and B1G+ as its exclusive streaming platform, in a three-year deal beginning with the 2021-22 season.

"We are excited to be partnering with the Big Ten Network and B1G+. BTN is a proven and well-recognized platform that will increase the brand exposure for the WCHA," said WCHA Commissioner Jennifer Flowers. "Not only will the best fans in college hockey have a more streamlined opportunity to watch our games, but our student-athletes will also be able to showcase their world-class skill in front of a much broader audience."

Games at all eight WCHA campuses will be streamed on the B1G+ platform, while the league is set to host at least two televised matchups on the Big Ten Network. Games selected to be televised will be announced in the coming weeks.

"Given the quality of WCHA hockey, which features three full-time Big Ten members in Minnesota, Ohio State and Wisconsin, we jumped at the opportunity to become the exclusive streaming home for the league," said Michael Calderon, Senior Vice President of Programming and Digital Media for the Big Ten Network. "We are hopeful that a single destination for all WCHA hockey fans not only provides additional exposure for women's hockey, but also a significantly improved user experience for viewers."

When packages go on sale in mid-September, fans will have the option of three passes, including a variety of annual and monthly packages:

  • WCHA Pass: $49.95 per year
    • Featuring all eight member institutions, the WCHA Pass includes 110 conference games. Each program is slated for a 28-game WCHA schedule, the complete WCHA Postseason, including the 2022 Final Faceoff, and several nonconference matchups hosted at WCHA member institutions.
  • Hockey Sport Pass: $54.95 per year
    • Access to all B1G+ ice hockey content for one year, including WCHA and men's and women's Big Ten games. The Hockey Sport Pass also features archived replays and an on-demand library for ice hockey.
  • School Pass (available for Minnesota, Wisconsin, Ohio State): $79.95 per year, $9.95 per month
    • Available to Minnesota, Wisconsin, and Ohio State fans, the School Pass includes access to content for all the WCHA games, in addition to each of the chosen school's additional Big Ten events airing on B1G+.


The B1G+ network of streams is available to watch on a PC, phone, tablet, or TV through apps on the Apple store and AppleTV, Google Play, Chromecast, Roku, and Amazon Fire TV.

About the Big Ten Network

A joint venture between the Big Ten Conference and Fox Networks, Big Ten Network is the first internationally distributed network dedicated to covering one of the premier collegiate conferences in the country. With more than 1,700 events across all platforms, the 24/7 network is the ultimate destination for fans and alumni across the country, allowing them to see their favorite teams, regardless of where they live, delivering live games and on-demand programming to Big Ten Network customers via the web, smartphones, and tablets. Original programming highlights activities and accomplishments of some of the nation's finest universities, including the Emmy-nominated The Journey. The network is carried by all the major video distributors across the United States and Canada and is also available through the majority of streaming providers, including AT&T TV, fuboTV, Hulu + Live TV, Sling TV, TVision, Vidgo and YouTube TV. The network schedule annually features over 800 women's events, including ice hockey. For additional information, please visit www.btn.com.

About the Western Collegiate Hockey Association

As the premier women's hockey conference, the WCHA marks its 23rd season in 2021-22. WCHA member institutions have won a record 18 national championships since the league's inception in 1999 (including a 17 of a possible 20 NCAA titles), while producing seven Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award winners, 110 All-Americans, and numerous Olympic and national team members. The eight-team NCAA Division I conference consists of Bemidji State University (Beavers), the University of Minnesota (Golden Gophers), the University of Minnesota Duluth (Bulldogs), Minnesota State University (Mavericks), The Ohio State University (Buckeyes), St. Cloud State University (Huskies), the University of St. Thomas (Tommies), and the University of Wisconsin (Badgers). For more information, visit wcha.com.