WCHA To Launch Search For Next Women's Commissioner
National search to begin immediately; league tabs six-person Search Committee

EDINA, Minn. – April 28, 2016 – The Western Collegiate Hockey Association (WCHA) announced today that it will launch a national search, beginning immediately, for the next Association Vice President and Women's Commissioner. The announcement was made by Dr. Stephen Castleberry, Faculty Athletics Representative at the University of Minnesota Duluth and newly-appointed Chair of the Women's WCHA.

The women's Executive Committee has appointed a six-person Search Committee, chaired by University of Minnesota Duluth Athletic Director Josh Berlo and including Bemidji State University Assistant Coach Amber Fryklund, University of North Dakota Faculty Athletics Representative Dr. Sue Jeno, University of Wisconsin Head Coach Mark Johnson, Minnesota State University, Mankato Faculty Athletics Representative Dr. Jeffrey Pribyl, and WCHA President and Men's Commissioner Bill Robertson.

"Given the growth and popularity of women's hockey reaching new heights, this is an incredible opportunity and responsibility for the WCHA – the nation's premier collegiate league – to play a prominent role in leading the sport's continued development and advancement," said Berlo.

"The Search Committee, on behalf of the WCHA and its member institutions, is excited to identify a dynamic leader whose work will ensure our continued championship-level success and academic achievement, while accelerating growth in all facets for the league and sport of women's hockey at a regional and national level. We are committed to recruiting a strong and diverse national candidate pool, and all qualified candidates are encouraged to apply."

Added Castleberry: "As the league embarks on its next chapter, the Executive Committee and WCHA member institutions wish to thank Bill Robertson for his efforts since assuming interim leadership duties Feb. 5. Under his guidance, the WCHA enjoyed a successful Final Face-Off tournament, including live television coverage of the championship game for the first time in league history. Bill's work has laid a terrific foundation for the women's WCHA moving forward."

The Search Committee's goal is to have a successful candidate selected and the position filled no later than August 1, 2016. Robertson will remain Interim Women's Commissioner until the position is filled.

About the Western Collegiate Hockey Association (WCHA)

The women's Western Collegiate Hockey Association has won a record 16 national championships in 17 years since its inception in 1999, while producing six Patty Kazmaier Award winners, 86 All-Americans and numerous Olympic and international team members. The eight-team Division 1 conference consists of: Bemidji State University (Beavers), the University of Minnesota (Golden Gophers), the University of Minnesota Duluth (Bulldogs), Minnesota State University (Mavericks), the University of North Dakota, Ohio State University (Buckeyes), St. Cloud State University (Huskies) and the University of Wisconsin (Badgers). For more information, visit www.wcha.com.