WCHA Tournament

WCHA Tournament

2018 WCHA Final Faceoff

A stellar four-team field, including three programs ranked in the top-10 nationally, will compete for the women's Western Collegiate Hockey Association (WCHA) playoff championship at the 2018 WCHA Final Faceoff, set for March 3 and 4 at Ridder Arena in Minneapolis. Nationally top-ranked Wisconsin, No. 6 Ohio State, No. 7 Minnesota and Bemidji State will vie for an automatic NCAA tournament berth at the premier conference tournament in women's college hockey.

Additional Links:

Event: 2018 WCHA Final Faceoff


Saturday, March 3 Semifinals
  • Wisconsin vs. Bemidji State, 2:07 p.m. CT
  • Ohio State vs. Minnesota, 5:07 p.m. CT


Sunday, March 4 Championship Game
  • Semifinal #1 winner vs. Semifinal #2 winner, 2:07 p.m. CT

3-Game Packages:

$35 – Reserved Chairback seating
$25 – General Admission (Adult)
$20 – General Admission (Seniors/Students/Youth)
$10 – General Admission (Groups of 10+)

Single-Session Packages:

$20 – Reserved Chairback seating
$15 – General Admission (Adult)
$12 – General Admission (Seniors/Students/Youth)
$10 – General Admission (Groups of 10+)


Ticket packages for the 2018 WCHA Final Faceoff are available for purchase directly through the Gopher Sales & Service Department; in-person at 3M Arena at Mariucci (during regular office hours of 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. CT, Monday-Friday) or during all Gopher Women's Hockey games, via phone at 612-624-8080 (Option 2) or online here. Certain fees may apply.

Tournament top-seed Wisconsin (29-3-2), which spent most of the season ranked No. 1 in the national polls, earned a quarterfinal-round bye and Final Faceoff berth after winning their third-straight WCHA regular season crown. The Badgers will begin their quest for an unprecedented fourth-straight Final Faceoff crown against fourth-seeded Bemidji State (16-18-3) in the first semifinal at 2:07 p.m. CT on Saturday, March 3. Ohio State (23-9-4), back in the Final Faceoff for the first time since 2013 as the tournament's second seed, will face third-seeded Minnesota (22-10-3) in the second semifinal at 5:07 p.m. CT.

The two semifinal winners will play Sunday, March 4 at 2:07 p.m. CT for the WCHA playoff championship and the league's automatic bid into the 2018 National Collegiate Women's Ice Hockey Championship. Additionally, the winning team will be the first to hoist the new WCHA Playoff Championship trophy, made possible through a donation from the #bucciovertimechallenge and #cawlidgehawkey initiative of ESPN anchor John Buccigross.

The Badgers, who own the WCHA record with seven league playoff championships, are playing in their eighth-straight WCHA Final Faceoff. The Gophers are making their 19th-consecutive appearance in the semifinals after sweeping St. Cloud State in a best-of-three quarterfinal-round series. The Buckeyes extended their program record with their 22nd and 23rd victories of the season, sweeping Minnesota State. The Beavers return to the Final Faceoff for the first time since 2015 after upsetting host Minnesota Duluth in Game 3 of their quarterfinal-round series.

Minnesota has won six WCHA playoff championships, while both Ohio State and Bemidji State are looking for their first Final Faceoff title.

The 2018 WCHA Final Faceoff is brought to you in part by supporting sponsors GoodWood Hockey, John Buccigross, Howies Hockey Tape, Hockey WrapAround, Krampade, FOX Sports North, Let's Play Hockey and Sports Minneapolis.

Details coming soon on auxiliary events. Mark your calendars to join the WCHA in celebrating the past, present and future of women's hockey!