University of Wisconsin
The University of Wisconsin–Madison is the original University of Wisconsin, created at the same time Wisconsin achieved statehood in 1848. It received Wisconsin's land grant and became the state's land-grant university after Congress adopted the Morrill Act in 1862. It continues to be Wisconsin's compre¬hensive teaching and research university with a statewide, national and international mission, offering programs at the undergradu¬ate, graduate and professional levels in a wide range of fields, while engaging in extensive scholarly research, continuing adult education and public service.

UW-Madison is among the largest and most comprehensive universities in the nation, and the largest of the 15 distinct institutions in the University of Wisconsin System. UW-Madison comprises 13 schools and colleges that include 121 academic departments, 251 centers and institutes, and 404 academic degree/ major programs. Our average class size is 29 students, and only 9 percent of our classes have more than 100 students. We offer more than 4,700 courses and 136 majors. UW-Madison has more than 21,000 employees, including more than 2,000 faculty, and is committed to a diverse and inclusive environment. For the 2014-15 academic year, the university received 30,463 freshman applications, topping 30,000 for the first time in our history. Of those, 14,480 were admitted and 6,339 students decided to enroll. With this incoming class, 29,302 undergraduates are currently enrolled at the university, compared to 29,504 last year. Total university enrollment is 43,193, down from 43,275 last year.

LaBahn Arena
The official groundbreaking ceremony for the LaBahn Arena took place on Wednesday, May 11, 2011. The building was turned over to the UW athletic program on Oct. 1, 2012. The building dedication and first game was Oct. 19, 2012, when the Wisconsin women's hockey team hosted Bemidji State.

Four teams are directly impacted by the new facility. Women's hockey will practice and compete in the 2,273-seat facility, while men's hockey will practice there. Both teams have expansive locker and team rooms as well as equipment and sports medicine facilities. The building also houses the women's coaching offices which overlook the ice.

The men's and women's swimming programs have spacious locker rooms, a sports medicine area, and huge team room with a view of Wisconsin's majestic Capitol. The arena is attached to its competition venue, the Southeast Recreation Building or SERF, by an enclosed skywalk.

The arena includes a dedicated dining facility for all the teams which use the LaBahn Arena and Kohl Center. The Kohl Center is attached to LaBahn by a long tunnel.

The total cost of the project was $27.9 million, with two-thirds of the cost coming from gifts to UW Athletics and the remainder coming from bonding.

La Bahn Arena is a tri-level complex that includes the following:

- 90' by 200' ice sheet for men's and women's hockey practice and women's competition, with seating for 2,273 spectators

- Men's and women's hockey team locker rooms and a visiting team locker room

- Women's hockey office suite and associated support spaces

- Locker and team room functions for the men's and women's swimming programs

- A connecting skywalk to the Southeast Recreation Facility (SERF)

- Minor renovation within SERF to accommodate circulation between the pool and the swimming teams' new locker suites

- Underground connection to the Kohl Center

- Relocation of the men's basketball locker suite to space vacated by the men's hockey locker suite at the Kohl Center; expansion of training room facilities, and expansion of laundry/equipment-issue facilities to accommodate the additional occupants of the complex

Key in the creation of the facility was bringing the Badger hockey and swimming teams to a centralized campus location for practice, competition and student services such as academics and sports medicine.