Thank you to all of our WCHA Postseason Sponsors:

Playoffs will open with Quarterfinal round March 12-14

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. – Feb. 16, 2021 – The Men's League of the Western Collegiate Hockey Association will hold its 2021 WCHA Postseason Tournament beginning with its quarterfinal weekend March 12-14 followed by a four-team, one-site championship weekend March 19-20.

The WCHA Postseason will begin with the top four teams each hosting a best-of-three quarterfinal round series. From there, the four highest remaining seeds will meet in a two-round championship weekend at the site of the highest remaining seed March 19-20. The four remaining teams will play single-game semifinals on March 19 with the winners advancing to the WCHA Championship Game on March 20.

The winner of the 2021 WCHA Postseason Tournament receives the league's automatic bid to the NCAA Division I Men's Ice Hockey Championship.

Pairings and locations for the quarterfinals will be announced at the conclusion of the regular season.

All games will stream live on

2021 WCHA Postseason Tournament, presented by SPIRE Credit Union

The WCHA will crown a playoff champion at the WCHA Postseason Tournament, presented by SPIRE Credit Union. The tournament winner will receive an automatic bid to the 2021 NCAA Division I Men's Ice Hockey Championship.

Jeff Sauer WCHA Championship Trophy, presented by Anderson's Pure Maple Syrup

The winner of the 2021 WCHA Postseason tournament will once again receive the Jeff Sauer WCHA Championship Trophy, presented Anderson's Pure Maple Syrup.


All-time WCHA Playoff Champions
Season Playoff Champion(s)
1959-60 Denver* and Michigan Tech*
1960-61 Denver* and Minnesota*
1961-62 Michigan Tech
1962-63 Denver
1963-64 Denver
1964-65 Michigan Tech
1965-66 Denver^ and Michigan State^
1966-67 Michigan State^ and North Dakota^
1967-68 Denver^ and North Dakota^
1968-69 Denver+ and Michigan Tech+
1969-70 Michigan Tech+ and Wisconsin+
1970-71 Denver+ and Minnesota+
1971-72 Denver^ and Wisconsin^
1972-73 Denver^ and Wisconsin^
1973-74 Michigan Tech^ and Minnesota^
1974-75 Michigan Tech ^ and Minnesota^
1975-76 Michigan Tech^ and Minnesota^
1976-77 Wisconsin
1977-78 Colorado College^ and Wisconsin^
1978-79 Minnesota^ and North Dakota^
1979-80 Minnesota^ and North Dakota^
1980-81 Michigan Tech^ and Minnesota^
1981-82 Wisconsin
1982-83 Wisconsin
1983-84 Minnesota Duluth
1984-85 Minnesota Duluth
1985-86 Denver
1986-87 North Dakota
1987-88 Wisconsin
1988-89 Northern Michigan
1989-90 Wisconsin
1990-91 Northern Michigan
1991-92 Northern Michigan
1992-93 Minnesota
1993-94 Minnesota
1994-95 Wisconsin
1995-96 Minnesota
1996-97 North Dakota
1997-98 Wisconsin
1998-99 Denver
1999-00 North Dakota
2000-01 St. Cloud State
2001-02 Denver
2002-03 Minnesota
2003-04 Minnesota
2004-05 Denver
2005-06 North Dakota
2006-07 Minnesota
2007-08 Denver
2008-09 Minnesota Duluth
2009-10 North Dakota
2010-11 North Dakota
2011-12 North Dakota
2012-13 Wisconsin
2013-14 Minnesota State
2014-15 Minnesota State
2015-16 Ferris State
2016-17 Michigan Tech
2017-18 Michigan Tech
2018-19 Minnesota State
* WCHA first round playoff winners;
^ WCHA second round playoff winners;
+ WCHA East and West Regional playoff winner